ColorChallenge Friday Sky Blue: Mount Vesuvius

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Creepy Mount Vesuvius looming over Naples in cold, March twilight.


We were on our way back from visiting Pompeii and then we saw this!


After seeing the devastation in Pompeii, everyone got really quiet on the tour bus, knowing that this is still an active volcano, and so many people still live within range.


Amidst the exhumed pottery stacked on shelves to be catalogued sat this person eternally captured in prayer

And on that bleak note...Happy Friday!


Sort:  

Great photo, strange ominous sky...must have been very atmospheric.
I have always wanted to visit Pompeii..it's on my bucket list.

It was very interesting. I love history and old places, and Pompeii was actually quite a large city which I hadn't realized. Definitely worth a trip!

Super dramatic. When I was there it was blue skies and sunburn. I felt like I was almost there on the day of the cataclysm due to the torching heat of the sun's rays.

The "Burger King" Pompeii nearby made for a great "Touristy-Snap" :D

Most of the days we were there we got rained upon, unfortunately. But the sun did peek out a bit here and there. I'd like to go back and hope for nicer weather :)

The bleaker the holiday, the fewer people you have to deal with, which generally means it's a nicer time :)

Haha, except when you go on tour with a bunch of people!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43