Sort:  

I love this little postbox, it's so thoroughly British 📮 I need tipU advice at some point.

Haha nice try @nataliemk I'll explain how tipu works when we get a moment. :)

The Red stands out against its surroundings nicely

Whoever thought up the colour was pretty smart. You can spot them easily to post your letters etc

Indeed but slowly they are becoming less common these days

I guess fewer people are using them now. Email etc. There is still something special about getting an actual letter. Jeez I'm old lol

You and me both :)

Yes they both have slots for poking things in lol

That sure is different looking in a nice way. I hope they don't get these mixed up with a fire hydrant! I like your last statement! :)

Haha slots of fun with this one. This is a proper old British post box. Still in daily use believe it or not? People still post stuff, me too.

I love how you use the word, "proper." I used to write letters all of the time and enjoyed receiving letters in the mail. Now, even a phone call is rare because of all of the new tech.

The way we communicate has changed but at the same time hardly at all.
These comments in my view are a little like how pen pals used to be. Talking to people all over the world. Pretty nest.
It's also true what you say about the phone. I rarely use it at all these days.

What an absolutely wonderful mailbox! I love the flowers around it too! The ones we have here are giant blue bins!

I agree it looks very pretty with the flowers around it too. Typical village street furniture. They keep them in good condition and the red paint makes it pop out.

I like the old, traditional red post boxes---looks very pretty with all the flowers around it too.

Me too. It reminds me of a time when public services like the post office were appreciated for what they did and made things look nice at the same time.

Those were the days!

Out in the country where I am we don't have any post boxes anymore. You need to run it up to the post office. However, the mailman will pick it up from your home box if you raise up the little flag which is what I always do.

That's something we never had here. The little flag thing. It must have saved the postie a lot of time on their rounds. Plus you can see from the house if you have mail. Neat idea really.

Yes here the postman never really has to leave his vehicle, but you get yours slipped in the door.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74