Poison Ivy - How to Identify It - ThursdayGreen - ColorChallenge

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

There are several ways to identify poison ivy. My favorite is to look for groups of three leaves with a long middle stem. You can just remember these mnemonics: "Long middle stem, stay away from them!" and "Leaves of three, let it be!"


IMG_1228-1.jpg


IMG_1230-1.jpg


I took these photos today with my Canon 6D and 24-105mm f/4L lens at 105mm, shutter speed 1/100 sec, f/4.5, ISO 800 and 1000. They are from my backyard, so I guess I better be careful out there!


Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly!

Sort:  

I am not allergic to poison oak or ivy, excellent post @mikemacintire🌱

Oh wow, you're one of the lucky ones! My wife is pretty sure she isn't allergic, either, but she isn't exactly looking to test it, haha!

I grew up around the plants, walked through the oak and ivy most of my life without knowing the stuff was dangerous. Don't do a test, I have relatives that are horribly allergic poor things.

Nice photos. They might save someone some misery.

Thank you! I hope so, 'cause poison ivy sucks.

nice post :) enjoy your day! ;)

very useful info. Thanks for sharing! Please check out my photo blog as well if you'd like. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85