Exploring the Ozarks Part 10: Alley Spring Mill (Also Red Monday #colorchallenge!)

Last Saturday, we visited Alley Spring Mill in Eminence, Missouri. We were there on business, taking senior portraits, but I managed to get some shots of the mill before we got started!

IMG_9487.jpg

The historic mill is probably one of the most photographed buildings in southern Missouri, for obvious reasons! The original mill was built in 1868, but the present, iconic mill was built in 1893.

IMG_9491.jpg

IMG_9493.jpg

IMG_9499.jpg

My family actually has ties to the mill in our history. My great-great-great-great grandfather, Charles Klepzig owned the property from 1881 to 1893! My grandmother has always been fascinated with ancestry and genealogy and she loves to share wonderful stories about our family history!

IMG_E8572.JPG

When the U.S. Mint released the Alley Spring quarter on June 5, 2017 she sent one to each of her grandkids. She also included a sweet letter and a timeline of the owners of Alley Mill. I just love my grandma ! :)

IMG_E8573.JPG

IMG_E8575.JPG

My very own Alley quarter from my grandmother

There is another mill in the area that to this day, is still referred to as Klepzig mill. Charles' brother, William, owned it and it still bears his name. I have several photos from there, but I'll just share a couple for now since the focus of this post is Alley Mill. Still pretty cool that my family was a part of all of this a long, long time ago!

IMG_1692.jpg

IMG_1766.jpg

If you're ever in the area, Alley Spring Mill is definitely worth visiting! Besides the stunning view, the mill is surrounded by several hiking trails and is right next to the beautiful Jack's Fork River.

IMG_9495.jpg

Thanks for checking it out!

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome, i lived in Arkansas and spent a lot of times in the Ozarks visiting camping and what not, good times. love the pictures and story, thanks. Be well.

Very cool! The Ozarks is such a beautiful area and I’m happy to call it my home :) Glad you were able to spend some time in the area!

This is soooooo cool! Great post, Melbert.

Thanks Heather! I hadn’t been in years and it’s still just as beautiful as ever! :)

Maan this looks like from a painting! i love it!

Thanks @malos10! It’s a very picturesque place, that’s for sure!

Nice post, my favorite is the image of the mill with the big, tipsy sycamore tree, good job!!!

Thanks @cognoscere! There are sycamores galore around here and they're so pretty!

You took some amazing photos!! I can only imagine how well your photo shoot went! So much talent!
That was really awesome of your grandma to keep track and forward you all that important family history! It's cool to be connected to somebody that made a large impact around them! I also have a famous person in my family tree but famous in the "betray your own people" kind of way.... he came over with christopher columbus, but then decided to do his own thing when he got here!!
I like the other mill you included! I don't think I have ever heard of that place. I will have to get some directions from you. I love reading your posts, even if you only have 5 minutes a week to make a post, it's full of wonderful content!! You are awesome!!

Also, Klepzig mill is in the same area as Rocky Falls just outside of Winona. The mill is small and old but its history is very impressive. And the shut-ins that surround it are absolutely stunning!

Thanks Brooke! We got some really fun senior pictures with all of the beautiful scenery and a very pretty young lady :) My Grandma is a fountain of information when it comes to family history and she always tells the best stories. We have a little bit of “bad history” too, so someday I’ll have to tell the story of why my maiden name shouldn’t actually be Yates :) As always, thanks for the kind words!!! :)

Oh intriguing!! Can't wait to hear it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84