Color Challenge Wednesday Yellow - Flower

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Finding a Yellow Flower

This morning, I was just going to take a quick look at my pictures with my morning coffee before starting my day.

And this is the first picture which popped up.

Which is weird! I took that a long time ago and when I was in my picture program last, I was nowhere close to it.

I figured that meant that I need to submit that to the Wednesday color challenge.

Here it is, my friends. I am pretty sure that it is the flowers and the seed pods of a Broccoli plant I let go to seed. I usually allow one or two plants to keep growing and do there thing.

The flowers are actually edible and sometimes, I just go out in the garden and snack on flowers. And I sprinkle lots of lowers onto my salads - I think that is why I am often asked to bring a salad to potluck events.

But back to why I am allowing plants to go to flower.

You already know that I like to eat them. As far as I know, flowers of all edible plants are edible as well. Please check for yourself though, in case that I am wrong.

Often, the flowers taste similar to the vegetable - which makes sense. The broccoli and cabbage flowers have a faint cabbage taste and one of my favorites, radish flowers, have this beautiful mild radish flavor. If you didn't pull your radishes early enough and they have become too hot to eat, let them be. Keep watering.

Your first new crop are going to be the delicious flowers and the next one is the young seedpods.

The seedpods are delicious!! They can get quite hot when they get bigger. so pick the very young ones for the salad and the bigger ones are great added to a stir fry. They also make delicious pickles!

In the picture, you see a few which show the roundness of the forming seeds. Leave those on the plant. Birds will snack on them and a few - or a lot - fall on the ground and give you new plants with no work required. hard to beat that!!

Another reason I let a lot of my plants flower is that all kinds of insects and birds love to eat. And the flowers and the seedpods give them plenty of food.

But not just the flowers.

Take a good look at the stalk on the right of the picture. It is covered in bugs!! Aphids of some sort.

First, I want you to notice that that one stalk is covered but the other ones have nothing on it. Some studies have shown or are theorizing that plants have a very sophisticated communication system. Often one plant sacrifices itself, takes on all the bugs, so others can be undisturbed.

This seems to be the case here.

Many want to run for the soap spray now and get rid of those little buggers. But I will leave them there. Ladybugs love to eat aphids!! If there are no aphids in the yard, they will leave for better hunting grounds.

Hummingbirds also love aphids and other insects. Especially if they are feeding their young. Actually, when these flowers were growing and were full of aphids, we had a humming bird nest close by. Easy snacking!!

So, you see, let those broccoli, radish and other plants go to seed. So many creatures will thank you for that.

I will also publish a similar version to this blog on our website

Colorchallenge Rules by @kalemandraThese are the rules of the color challenge copied from @kalemandra

I invite you all to this permanent challenge! Color your day with your own photo or artwork, relating the color of the current day. We have 7 chakras with the colors of the rainbow. The rainbow has 7 colors. A week is equal to 7 days. Days are colors.

MondayRed TuesdayOrange WednesdayYellow ThursdayGreen FridaySkyblue SaturdayIndigo SundayPurple What to do? Resteem and upvote this post (if you want). Post something (photo, artwork) with the color of the day. The photos must be original content! Don't forget to title and tag your post: #ColorChallenge (first tag!) and tag the color day as well. Repeat it 7 times or more, with the 7 colors.

Where else to find me

Listen to our podcast here: http://www.sustainablelivingpodcast.com/

Support us on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/user?u=2723500

Follow us on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/sustainable0019/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA73SuaMBnBIaB5OdiL_y6Q/videos?view_as=subscriber

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Wondeful post @mariannewest. Congratulations.

Thank you, Gina

Nice to see such lovely flowers.
Who would have thought that broccoli flowers would look so good?

They are small - but you know what they say. Small, but beautiful :)

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67