Color Challenge: Thursday Green - Lemon Verbena Tea

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

20024233_10158943001705697_2968891668495919874_o.jpg

After I spent the weekend in the garden, tidying things up and giving the whole back yard plenty of water, I noticed a patch of green stuff that stood out from the mint, pepper mint, rosemary and chives that make up a little herb garden over there.

I picked off a leaf and rubbed it in my fingers and was instantly transported to childhood by the aroma of Verbena. Back then it was the only herbal tea I was interested in, because it had flavour and smell - peppermint made me feel sick (probably due to a time when I was actually sick and given peppermint tea to recuperate) but this stuff was ace. Also the name sounded a bit like Ribena and I knew I wasn't going to get Ribena, but this was the next best thing.

I had no idea what it really was called or that it was a herb or what it really looked like (it came in teabags). I didn't separate out the Lemon and Verbena parts it was just lemanvurbeaner.

Anyway, now I really appreciate taking a little twig (or is it a sprig) and drowning it in boiling water to make a lovely sherbety drink that gives me all the get up and go I could need on a hot summers day. And it sits there patiently growing, just outside my back door.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lloyddavis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I never knew you could make tea from verbena!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55