ColorChallenge Thursday Green - A look at Cacti in a Prickly Arizona Yard

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

For the this greenery we go to the deserts of Arizona to look at some cacti that were growing in my large desert yard. I imagine they’re still doing well there; they’re quite well adjusted to the climate. It’s just that it’s not my yard any longer. I changed locations.

IMG_2685ab.jpg

The long spines add some piercing graphics to the photo! Not something to stumble into!

IMG_2705a.jpg

Another cactus with big leaves. The buds are forming flowers along with new leaves coming out after spring rains. The flowers last a very short time unlike some other cacti.

IMG_2658a.jpg

A view of a whole plant. This variety doesn't grow tall but likes to spread itself outwards.

IMG_2677a.jpg

Not everything was cacti in the yard. Here is an image of a mesquite flower. The bees make a boldly flavored honey with its nectar, and yes the tree has thorns too. The wood is famous for the flavor that it adds to barbecue.

IMG_2724a.jpg

This post is part of the weekly challenge put on by @kalemandra with special thanks to her for the fun opportunity.

Everyone is invited to particpate, ColorChallenge rules here.

As usual will be fun to see all the entries.

I'm a new "plankton" and not yet a "minnow" or maybe the next category is krill. Little did I know about all the categories and how low on the food chain I am. Well, to look at the bright side at least plankton get to sunbath for their chlorophyll. I’ll just drift along until I can get eaten by a minnow! I invite everyone to take a look at my photo blog here.

Love is the voice under all silences, the hope which has no opposite in fear; the strength so strong mere force is feebleness: the truth more first than sun, more last than star...
-- e. e. cummings

Enjoy,
John Congdon

And some prickly humor that may have originated in Arizona.

a.gif

Sort:  

@johncongdon
#whalepower Tag spell wrong . (will never show up.)
I follow you back from my Tutorial.
cos I like your comment, want to give you a Token.
Please edit it so the other curator from #whalepower can give more.

Thanks for noticing, got it corrected and thanks for the upvote! I'll continue to check in with your project; cooperation is what can make Steemit successful.

You know, without plankton there would be no whales... 😉

Yeah, there wouldn't be lots of things w/o plankton.

And my upvote doesn't even show up! Hmmm... plankton. Lol ( ;

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83