ColorChallenge - FridaySkyblue - Bluejay

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Bluejay 1.jpg

It's time for the daily ColorChallenge contest. For SkyBlueFriday I picked these pictures of a blue jay in my backyard.

My camera was new. I bought a package at Costco. It was a Canon Rebel DSLR and it came with two lenses. One was a 75 - 300mm lens and the other a 18 - 55mm. The 18 - 55mm is the lens that comes standard with the camera. It's a good all around lens. If you don't know what you're going to be taking pictures of it's a good lens to have on your camera ready to go.

Bluejay 2.jpg

I also bought a tripod. To get any use out of the zoom lens I was going to need some help keeping the camera stable.

Many of my first photos were birds in my backyard. It's surprising some of the shots you can get out your back door even in the city. Birds are the easiest and I definitely get the most variety of any type of animal but I was also getting a surprising number of pictures of snowshoe hares. They are common in Edmonton and we had a big open overgrown lot next to us that used to be a row of four greenhouses. The bunnies loved it and I got quite a few pictures of them as well.

Bluejay 3.jpg

I set up my tripod and put the 75 - 300mm lens on the camera. It was a nice day and I just set up my camera and waited to see what birds would show up. This blue jay was way across my backyard on the fence. It's like he knew I was getting ready to take pictures and just showed up. I'm not sure what he had in his mouth. We don't really have any seeds or nuts that big in our area. The only thing I can think of is our compost barrel in nearby and maybe the blue jay got a cherry pit out of the compost. The other thing it could be is a rock but I don't think the blue jay would have been that interested.
Whatever it was he sure seemed to enjoy playing with it.

Until next time. Good luck everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77