Marriage Blessing...Relief Painting with Sigil for my Niece...Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)


Here is the first part and back story of this painting for my Niece...

https://steemit.com/art/@in2itiveart/marriage-blessing-sigil-relief-painting

And here is the progression since I started to paint it...


first I coated it with flat white paint


next with opalescent glaze as an underpainting


then a basic underpainting of color


and finally here with some more details

I am having some concerns about whether it's "good enough" right now - because it looks a little like a bit of Americana I might see at the thrift store...but I am going to keep working on it and see where it goes...


Once again, it is a marriage blessing for my niece and her new husband...

Sort:  

No, no, it is absolutely beautiful. I have just started working with media other than flat water colors, and I am truly inspired by your piece. The ideas are just flowing right now, thanks to you!

Hi @minnaloushe - glad I can help! I used a product called skratchworks - the softer of the 2 for adding to indoor relief painting - they make some you can use for outdoor - it is like finely crushed dryer lint with a binder like borate - and you can sculpt with it and it sticks to primed wood and then you can paint it... I too am bored with flat and need to make a surface on the substrate... i just feel a like there is not enough room to actually paint on this tiny surface but I will figure it out - I might figure out a way to frame it... not sure yet - thanks for your comments...

Thanks! I think I have seen similar products in South Africa. I will just have to source it. I will be following you for sharing of ideas, maybe.

amazing paintings @in2itiveart

very nice reliefe! upvote!
I invite you to visit my blog, about my art!

Muy alegre mariposa .colores del verano

Beautiful painting

Very interesting, good post and I like, hopefully the next post better with a more perfect idea. follow me @pojan, Upvote and give a positive comment for me.

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@pojan/color-challenge-saturday-indigo-indigophoto-2017930t225324586z

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71067.77
ETH 3831.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44