ColourChallenge FridaySkyBlue: Breathtaking Huka Falls, The #1 Attraction in New Zealand

Isn't this just some of the wildest blue you've ever seen?

I had to drive for miles on end in an old, squeezy camper van to get to this popular picturesque spot (rated #1 attraction in NZ) but boy, was it ever worth it! The clear blue waters took my breath away!


skybluechallenge1.JPG

Here, I am standing above on a platform overlooking the falls where water flows over it at a rate of 220,000 litres per second! PER SECOND! The sound of power coming from this natural energy source was incredible! I felt like the ground was rumbling under my feet and to be honest was concerned about the stability of the platform! They say it would only take 11 seconds to fill an Olympic sized swimming pool at that rate! Can you imagine how fast that would be?


skyblue2.JPG


Did you know that New Zealand has turned Huka Falls into a source of green energy? That's right! That massive amount of force is being harnessed and turned into power! Isn't nature incredible? (I am a huge supporter of New Zealand's environmental initiatives. They have some of the most untouched, pristine waters I have ever had the privilege of laying eyes on- there is more photos of that where this came from!)


skyblue3.JPG


For now, I leave you to bathe in the blue waters of Friday. I will tell you all about how I lived in a camper van, running all over New Zealand for months another time over in Confessions of a Vagabond, my travel series.

I hope you enjoyed these pictures as much as I enjoyed sharing them with you! I am excited to share more photos of my adventures with you in this fun way that is colorchallenge!

All stats were taken from New Zealand's website to ensure accuracy!

Until next time, sending you love on this wonderful Friday!
XO,
celenesignoffnew1.jpg
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort:  

It's kinda weird, I want to jump in that now lol

Not suggested my friend. Not suggested.

Interesting fact that I learned when I got there... many tourists attempt to float down the falls... it's not a happy ending :(

Thanks, nature is the one to credit here, she's such a beautiful enchantress!
XO,
💜2💜

Wow, those photos were amazing! I would love to experience that someday. There's something about a waterfall...but even more so when it's that color!

New Zealand is FILLED with gorgeous waterfalls! I remember writing a post to my family saying "Is it terrible that I am no longer as thrilled as I once was to see these? I think I am getting immune to them :S" Not true however, I still love them but this is one of my absolute favorites :)
XO,
💜2💜

I'm not sure I could ever get tired of seeing them! I want to live on top of one like in the movie Up (lol). My sister spent some extended time in Australia/New Zealand. She told me that NZ would be my zen place. I even have her photos on my wall in my living room. Beautiful! Hopefully one day I will see it for myself.

I agree with her, it's a natural paradise. So beautiful everywhere you look, it becomes normal to see luscious greens and vibrant blues and it's a dream. I would definitely recommend visiting if you ever get the chance. It's so quiet and tranquil. I really found a lot of answers there :)

Awesome. It's on my list!!

amazing, the definition of refreshing waters! really needed with the hot summer days we're enduring lately...

These waters are not so much for swimming, but the color is just so tempting ;)
XO,
💜2💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62058.88
ETH 3419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48