ColorChallenge - Monday Red - FREE OFFICIAL RED BOOK 2017

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

This is a Giveaway / Contest of The Official Red Book 2017

This is a Giveaway / Contest of The Official Red Book 2017. The Morgan Dollar is NOT included in the giveaway.

1883 0 MORGAN DOLLAR FEATURED IN THE OFFICIAL RED BOOK

Here's a picture of the 1883 0 MORGAN DOLLAR PICTURED on the 2017 SPIRAL OFFICIAL RED BOOK
RedBookMorgan1 copy.jpg
RedBookMorganFull1 copy.jpg

The Official Red Book 2017

The Official Red Book 2017 a.k.a. "A Guide Book of United States Coins 2017" By R.S. Yeoman is THE DEFINIIVE GUIDE for all U.S. Coins.

This is the 2017 Version of the Red Book. I happen to have an extra Red Book, so this book is looking for a new home. I would love to send this book to a happy home.

Please reply with your favorite coin that you want to look up in this book.

For Example, I own a 1883 O Morgan Dollar. The information on the Morgan Dollar gives basic information about the Morgan Dollar. Any variations of the Morgan Dollar are highlighted. The description includes the criteria for determining the condition of your coin.

REPLY WITH YOUR FAVORITE U.S. COIN

REPLY WITH YOUR FAVORITE U.S. COIN THAT YOU WANT TO LOOK UP IN THE BOOK!

Morgan Silver Dollar 1883 O

The Morgan Silver Dollars 1883 with an 'O' mint mark. The Morgan Dollar is NOT included in the giveaway.
Morgan1883O copy.jpg
Morgan1883R copy.jpg

Morgan Silver Dollar 1883 O in The Official Red Book 2017.

The number of coins minted at each mint for each year is provided.
I own several books over the past several years. I get them annually.

Currently, in 2017, The Official Red Book is also available online from Whitman, subscription based.

Morgan Pages in The Official Red Book 2017 - Full Page View

RedBookMorganPageFull1 copy.jpg

Morgan Pages in The Official Red Book 2017 - Intro 1

RedBookMorganPageIntro1 copy.jpg

Morgan Pages in The Official Red Book 2017 - Intro 2

RedBookMorganPageIntro2 copy.jpg

Morgan Pages in The Official Red Book 2017 - Intro 3

RedBookMorganPageIntro3 copy.jpg

Morgan Pages in The Official Red Book 2017 - Line Item

The first column is VF20 (Very Fine) and second column is EF40 (Extremely Fine). This Morgan Dollar is EF40 - Extremely Fine. So, we see the value is about $37. We see the line for 1883 0 and we see $37 in the second column.
RedBookMorganPage18830Line copy.jpg

BASIC CONTEST RULES:

- Please Follow Me

- Please Upvote this Post

- Please Leave a Reply with your favorite U.S. Coin that you want to look up in the Red Book.

Re-Steem would be nice.

I will use a random tool to select a winner at random.

I will post the winner in 5 days, on 2/17/18.
(Note: I will ship worldwide - I need an address to send the book).

GOOD LUCK EVERYBODY

Photos taken by me . . . . .

EDIT:

WINNER: @mikeshuh - Congrats!

Winner FREE OFFICIAL RED BOOK 2017 to @mikeshuh from @goldkey !!!

@mikeshuh - WINNER - PLEASE CONTACT ME THIS WEEKEND

Please contact me via chat or discord, this weekend! So I can get the book in the mail by Monday, I'll need the address immediately.
Contact information:
https://steemit.chat/home with same ID: goldkey
https://discordapp.com with same ID: goldkey#7748

.

Sort:  

WINNER: @mikeshuh - Congrats!

Winner FREE OFFICIAL RED BOOK 2017 to @mikeshuh from @goldkey !!!

@mikeshuh - WINNER - PLEASE CONTACT ME THIS WEEKEND

Please contact me via chat or discord, this weekend! So I can get the book in the mail by Monday, I'll need the address immediately.
Contact information:
https://steemit.chat/home with same ID: goldkey
https://discordapp.com with same ID: goldkey#7748

.

Woo hoo! I just sent you my info on Discord!

How about that them there wooden nickel? My ma's got a few of them (real).... 😉

Or how about the first morgan in MS70 condition?

The Red Book lists first the 1878, 8 feathers, Morgan with top condition of PF-63 valued at $3500.
There's a 1878, 7 feathers, Morgan, 3rd reverse with top condition of PF-63 valued at $85,000.
It's hard to see, but it is in the picture above at Morgan Pages in The Official Red Book 2017 - Intro 3.

So the grade in the book, what does it go by? Non private i assume

The condition criteria are listed above in the photo. . . Morgan Pages in The Official Red Book 2017 - Intro 2.
It's hard to read... basically it depends on the wear of the coin... usually determined by the amount of wear in the hair because that's the first ares to get smoothed over... and of course overall condition.

So it depends on who is buying it to determin the actual condition? They could argue all day that it isnt an EF40 compared to a VF40, your best bet is to get your coin graded privately to get the most value out of it if wanting to sell?

In any transaction, the value is determined by both seller and buyer. The official name is "A Guide Book of United States Coins", so these coin values are a 'Guide". Even with a definitive grade by a grading company, the buyer can still offer less.

It seems that this book is one of the best guides to getting your moneys worth. will have to get one if i ever go and sell, great place to start negotiations.

My favorite coin I would like to look up is the 1943 copper penny.

Well, @grizzman, there is a small section that discusses the 1943 copper penny. It describes that there are a few 1943 pennies that were struck on the wrong planchet that was left behind in the machine from 1942. There are about 36-40 known 1943 copper pennies. They sell at auction, thus the book doesn't list an actual value for these due to the rarity. Apparently, there were 'counterfeits' created by putting copper plating on steel cents.

A larger section describes in general the types of mistakes and errors and wrong planchet coins that can occur. These are rare and again the value is not very well defined.

This is an example of a coin where you can find more information online about a particular coin and probably find more information about current auctions, current values, etc.

My favorite is 1933 Double eagle, because its the most expensive i guess :P

The 1933 Double Eagle is extremely rare because these 1933 coins were never released by the U.S. mint. The Red Book gives just enough information to whet the appetite for more information. This coin has an interesting story. These coins intersect with U.S. History and the value of gold in history.

All I gots is a 1941 Walker. Is it worth a million?

The Red Book lists the 1941 Walking Liberty Half Dollar with top condition of PF-63 valued at $575.
I have a few Walkers from my mom 1942, 1943, that are priceless for me :)

1927 quarter. I know this coin isn’t as cool as most other coins hell I don’t even know if it will be in the book. but this book would help me learn since I am new to this space. my quarter is a standing liberty I was told.

Of coarse, the Standing Liberty Quarter is in the Red Book. There are 3 lines for the 1927 coins, for the 3 mints where the coin was minted: Philadelphia, Denver or San Francisco. The mint mark is to the left of the date on the obverse. Philadelphia has no mint mark. Denver has a 'D' and San Francisco has an 'S'.

This is EXACTLY WHY I am posting about the Red Book - to share that it exists and it has a wealth of knowledge for collectors of U.S. coins.

really that’s awesome. thanks well hope I win so I can learn about some more stuff

I sometimes carry around an 1884 Morgan as "pocket silver". I got it with some other silver dollars when my grandpa passed.

Also, these Red Books are a bit nostalgic for me, my dad used to buy one every few years.

That's cool about the 1884 Morgan and I'm glad that you already know about the Red Books. These books have been around a long time - 2017 is the 70th edition.

WINNER: @mikeshuh - Congrats!

Winner FREE OFFICIAL RED BOOK 2017 to @mikeshuh from @goldkey !!!

@mikeshuh - WINNER - PLEASE CONTACT ME THIS WEEKEND

Please contact me via chat or discord, this weekend! So I can get the book in the mail by Monday, I'll need the address immediately.
Contact information:
https://steemit.chat/home with same ID: goldkey
https://discordapp.com with same ID: goldkey#7748

.

1787 Fugio Cent. Just scooped one in nice original condition and would love to see the 2018 Red Book value - lost my last copy of the Red Book. Cool post sir.

That's a new one for me. . . congrats on picking up this coin. . . here you go . . .

FUGIO COPPERS

Top Value of $400,000 for AU condition and first listed 'design' Obverse Cross After Date, No Cinquefoils and Reverse Rays and American Congress.
Otherwise, valued around $300 for Good up to 12,500 for Almost Uncirculated.

IMG_20180212_220617379.jpg

Such a neat idea. Being Canadian I don't have a collection of American coins but I have heard of some pretty cool commemorative coins out there. Given that it is Olympics time I'd be curious to know the value of the 2002 Winter Olympic Silver dollar.

I have a Coin from those Winter Olympics - I think it's Hockey... gotta go find it now

Sweet!!! Check out my color challenge post today. Olympic based! haha
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@broncofan99/colorchallenge-red-monday-golden-canadians
Unfortunately it only has 4 views and I think that is each time I went into the post myself lol

My favourite is the 1943 s steel wheat penny

The 1943 S Steel Wheat Penny is an excellent choice. It is one of my favorites too. The 1943 Steel Wheat Penny has one of the most fascinating stories in the history of U.S. coins. I had previously noticed your icon is this penny. I must say that is commitment to a favorite coin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58