You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Color Challenge - Yellow Wednesday - Let the World Decide

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Sorry for the late reply @rossfletcher. I always check my replies but for some reason this one didn't appear. 😪

"Am I the only artist who would rather make art than write?" Definitely not! I find writing for any length of time frustrating hence the over abundance of photography posts.

I would have to agree that commenting on other people's posts is a good strategy. It's what brought me most of my followers. I only comment selectively and only on posts I genuinely have something to say about. The hardest part for me with that strategy is the time it takes to find the posts rather than the writing itself since my comments are generally pretty short.

The whole money side of things can get me down too. Last night I came across an account that is only 3 days old, has made 11 posts and everyone of them earned over $14. When I asked about it on Discord they said that what he was doing was technically legitimate. Needless to say I couldn't work out how he was doing it. 😊

I keep promising myself I will stop reading the posts about people gaming the system because it gets me down but then I seem to get suckered in again.

In the end, I suppose it depends what you want out of the platform. I get a kick out of seeing my numbers going up (not the money specifically but rep and number of posts etc.) whilst working out the best strategy to get them to increase more. It takes a huge amount of time though so not sure how long I'll want to continue, at least at my current pace. I have already reduced my posting.

I still don't get the whole upvoting thing really. The stuff I tried in the early days didn't seem to have any effect and the only curation payouts I've had have been on my own comments or where a couple of people with big SP happened to upvote me when I thanked them. Even so it's a tiny amount. I don't pay any attention to it anymore. Just upvote when I feel like it and don't worry about how low my percentage goes since it doesn't seem to have any power anyway.

These frustrations seem really common amongst Minnows which is probably why so few people stick around.

I definitely think we need to be strategic with posting, commenting etc if we want our figures to improve.

Don't worry about "wasting" my time. If I don't want to reply I won't. 😁

Sort:  

A comment on one aspect
voting
I powered up all my steem and steem dollars so my vote would contribute to the person i vote for. It's about a penny now hahahah. But i'm happy about that.
if you power up your vote will have $ to it.
my voting weight is 34 sp
have you been checking this page? https://steemd.com/@gillianpearce
your voting weight is 18 sp if you power up the steem in your wallet it will go up and give you a bigger $ vote.
The first thing on top of your wallet is steem. It's super easy to power that one up. Just click the little triangle and click power up, then look at your sp number and it will go up
The steem dollars are a little more complicated to power up

Yep. It's on my list of things to do. I have notes on how to do it. I started reading them on Christmas Eve when I was tired so it all felt a bit overwhelming and I left it. Not sure when I'm going to get round to it now as it's a big birthday for me tomorrow and my family have organised a surprise.

Already started today when 2 friends I've not seen for 9 years turned up at my door having flown all the way from America!!!

How amazing!!!

I think i'm cying now after seeing a post of a rubbish Ford Fiesta (car) with over $100. Just an ordinary car...oh the background was a nice view. Seriously? I'm not sure i can continue here... I post my best work and only the photocontests bot and my one friend vote for me. I'm not a saint. I want to be seen and voted up. Being ignored isn't much fun and my whining isn't helping is it ? :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43