Color Challenge - Thursday Green - Moss & Lichen

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)


Steemit Contest Changes My World - Literally


A couple of days ago @kus-knee of mundane art contest fame, asked me if I was going to submit a photo this week. As the topic is moss and lichen I said, probably not. I couldn't think of any photos off-hand that I had in my collection and, living close to the sea it wasn't likely that I would get the opportunity to take any new ones.

How wrong I was!

green moss.jpg

I went out for a walk this afternoon and was amazed to see that a lot of the trees, that line the avenues, have moss and/or lichen growing on their west side. What? Gasp? How can that be when they are so close to the sea.

Out came my phone.

It was a grey day so the colours aren't very vibrant but I wanted to give you a taste of the variety of mosses and lichens on my doorstep that I had no idea were there.

green moss 6.jpg

Without the photography contest I would have walked right past them as I must have done hundreds of time before. But suddenly I was seeing the world differently.

green moss 7.jpg

Then to cap it all . . .

I live in a mews property so we have big garage doors (used to be the stables) and on those doors we have 2 hay mangers which I plant up every summer. I haven't gotten around to removing last summer's plants and when I came home from my walk I noticed some beautiful vibrant green moss growing underneath one of the dead plants (see top picture).

Talk about right on your doorstep!

All these winter days I had missed this.

I'm humbled by how this little Steemit contest has literally changed my world. Today I saw what was always there, but that I hadn't noticed before.

And . . . as this this wasn't enough, my curiosity is well and truly piqued . . . will the moss and lichen still be on the trees in summer or is this a winter thing?

We'll have to wait a few months to find out!

Be sure to click on the images to view them full screen!



Thank you to @kus-knee for the weekly #mundaneart challenge and for giving me the opportunity to open my eyes!
Thanks to @kalemandra for the daily color challenge.

Sort:  

Prettttty colours

Wonderful selection of moss and lichen, Gillian! This first shot is especially lush! Great job!! I find looking for shots opens up our eyes to an unseen world, usually right in front of us... :) Have a great Friday & weekend ahead!

Thanks @ackhoo. It's going to be a busy one. Hope you've got some fun stuff planned!

Hey you found some.....awesome. Funny how it happens you don't notice until its asked of you....Nice background about it too.

Yeah. It's a great story. Even if I say so myself! 😊

Did you post your entry on @kus-knee 's post in the comments section? I didn't see it last night. You need to post your entry and add the link back to this post. fyi

Thanks so much for the heads up. I completely forgot. I've added it now! 😙

I gave you a little boost so you weren't at the bottom of the page :)

😚 😚 😚

Happy to give you another one too Gillian.

thank you! 💙

Very fresh natural green

Love it. Love how the mere idea of an image for 'Mundane as Art' allowed you to see what had been there just waiting ~ Waiting.

I know. It just shows how much we miss, not only taking things for granted but literally not seeing them in the first place!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

This post received a 2.100 SBD (26.25%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @gillianpearce! For more information, check out my profile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72