Argyroupoli's springs and Kourna Lake, two not so known paradises of my island

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians.
Some days ago it was a huge heat wave here in Crete so I decided to go somewhere to chill and relax.
Because my knee was hit I asked a friend to come with me and help me. We decided to go to Kournas Lake first and after that to Argyroupolis Springs for lunch. We rent a water bicycle and went around the lake. It was very nice and relaxing.
Kournas Lake is located 25km west of Rethymno. It's the only freshwater lake in Crete. It's lying in a valley among the hills. Kournas Lake is relatively small, with about 1000m length and about 22m depth. Some say that the lake is bottomless. Some say it's not. We will never know.
Here are some photos and a small video that I captured during my visit there.

image

image

image

After that we went at Argyroupolis Springs as i said earlier.
The Springs are located 27km southwest of Rethymno. The water gushed from a cave nearby the springs and the cave there is called Church of Agia Dynami. The water is said to be miraculous. Lush greens and many small waterfalls dominate the area. Here are some photos I made and 2 small videos

image

image

image

image

image

Here is my friend Babis that helped me and he was my driver too.

image

image

image

There was also a tank full of fishes that you could order and eat.

image

And here are the videos

Hope you liked them. :) see you next time.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by giannis.diam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Beautiful pictures. I'm a bit jealous, lol. Always wanted to visit Crete.

You shouldnt be jealous :) just plan to visit Crete. Am sure you will love it. The sun. The beaches. The hotels. The island itself. And of course the food :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67