Color Challenge - Thursday Green at Giraween

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

image

Nestled deep in the Darling Downs countryside sandwiched on the border between New South Wales and Queensland Australia about 260km south-west of Brisbane (if that helps put into perspective for some) sits an amazing expanse of land.

It's called Giraween National Park. The name Giraween means 'place of flowers'. Whilst visiting I was astounded by how scenic it was and despite the fact hundreds of people were there at the same time it literally felt like you were almost the only ones there. Suppose that's because of how enormous the park is, coupled with the fact that there is no mobile signal for at least 4-5km!!!

We went at the wrong time of year to see certain things as the trip was whilst my parents were visiting hence there was only a small window of opportunity to go.

There's always something different to see and it's definitely on my list of 'I'd go back there' places. Think I would try to go on a different season to see more. I imagine it would be pretty amazing with a storm rolling in too.

The park is famous for birdwatching, wild flowers in the springtime, boulders granite outcrops, walking and camping. Also of significant notability is the fact that this place is home to Bald Rock; the second largest monolith of the continent, only being topped by Uluru (Ayres Rock)!

This is just one of the photos I took, 23-Sep-2013, having visited with my parents and my 2nd cousins who pretty much adopted me as a sister whilst I lived near them, even living with them a couple of times between work contracts as they wanted to help me save money and troubles trying to rent for short periods of time.

If you haven't read my previous posts feel free to go have a read and upvote if you like them.

Follow me for more daily ramblings 😊

Sort:  

beautiful photo and i followed you

Thanks :). Hope you enjoy and continue to like my posts :)

Hey, nice post! Glad to meet you! So cool, we are worldwide!!! NICE.
Please follow me back, I have some amazing photography posts planned.
: ) @gaffersunicorn

We most certainly are worldwide, I am sure there's so much more out there that we often don't see and this is a great platform to share what we can of life, experiences and so much more. Look forward to seeing some of your pictures :)

Great entry for the color challenge mind

I do try; although often struggle to get more than 15 upvotes despite all my best efforts!! ;) - Crying here - ha ha. Least if a few like it then at least my efforts aren't in too much vain!

Love your post 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50