#ColorChallenge: From Space, red is the color of vegetation!

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Many satellite images have a fair amount of red in them. This is because the sensors they are equipped with are also sensitive to light in the near-infrared portion of the electromagnetic spectrum. As a result, land objects that emit a lot of light in this part of the spectrum will look very different to those that do not. Following an image processing where this information is added to the picture, these objects will appear red in the final image. What are these objects? Vegetation!

Here is a satellite image of Berlin, taken by the European Sentinel 2 satellite in 2015:
Berlin_Germany.jpg

In images taken by optical remote sensing satellites carrying a Multispectral Instrument (MSI) farmland, forests, and grass-covered areas, turn red. As pavement and rooftops reflect no light in this part of the spectrum, it is very easy to distinguish between parts that are green and those that are not. This is highly useful for a number of reasons. In cities, urban planners want to monitor the state and evolution of green spaces in and around the city over time. This to ensure a healthy environment for citizens. It is also used to monitor the status and health of forests around the world, whilst also detecting deforestation and forest fires.

But why are plants red? Or rather, why do they emit more light in this part of the spectrum? Healthy vegetation will absorb blue and red-light energy to fuel photosynthesis and create chlorophyll. A plant with more chlorophyll will reflect more near-infrared energy than an unhealthy plant. Therefore, when you photograph a forest or an area filled with vegetation with an infrared camera it will have a red colour. And the greener and healthier the plant is, the redder it will normally be. Thus farmland, where vegetation is often more yellow than green, will often be seen as more orange-looking squares.

Below is another image, taken with a similar camera at the Yellowstone National Park from Mount Sheridan in Australia, demonstrating how trees appear as red.
yellowstone_infrared_nps.jpg
source

Love these images? Follow me to receive more posts with unique images of our wonderful planet taken by satellites! In my new series, 5 Beautiful Satellite Images of our Planet you won’t believe are real, I show different parts of our planet as seen from a satellite.

Sort:  

I could definitely print it and hang it on my wall ;)

They are great! I have a few in my office ;)

Photos are good, but concept of this post is great, good informative article 🔝

Thank you! I'm still finding my way on this platform, and wondering what niche to pick or what format to go for. Your feedback is very valuable :)

Thank you for sharing those astonishing pictures! I could stare at them for hours.. I've checked out your blog and I'm already following it! When I was a child I used to dream about studying astronomy..Then I ended up studying Classics but I'm still in love with my first passions! :D

Thanks a lot for the kind words :)
Yes you should always keep the passion alive! I ended up studying economics, but wanted to pursue my passion for space as an economist. :) Now working with fostering innovation around the use of new and emerging satellite capabilities. So I get to see a lot of these beauties in my work :) will keep them coming!

That's great! I'll keep following ;)

those are amazing pics thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

Awsome photos!

Keep it up this way.

If you like come and see my blog about my pug Django @juicypop

I simply don't have any other words than just plain: WOW!!

Very nice, Will be looking forward to your posts.

Up-voted :-)

RightWithin

Interesting!

I emailed Steemit to tell them about @ackza going ballistic on me with assault, harassment and cyberbullying and I have not heard anything back.

The police took my police report for cyberbullying after seeing the evidence and oddly, Steemit has done nothing to stop it.

You do realize that Steemit is required to uphold the Federal internet laws that are governed, right?

PLEASE EXCUSE MY LOW RATING, @donkypong IS BALLISTICALLY CENSORING AND FLAGGING ME

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78