Songkran in My Thai Neighborhood Bangkok Thailand

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

My entire Bangkok Thailand neighborhood is closed – everything is locked and no one is there – or there – or there. Anywhere. All the places people usually are have no people in them. It's so astonishing to have no one and nothing.

Carts are gone entirely from their spot or have a sheet thrown over them.

Furniture is up on tables.

The streets are empty except in the afternoon when many people will throw a bucket of water on you or your car – or squirt you.

Or squirt you from a car. A whole bunch of people will be in the back of a truck with tanks of water and squirting implements. Or on the motorcycles. It's impressive beyond belief.

They are just there - everywhere; waiting to get you wet. For reals. Even an old lady. Especially an old lady. She needs this blessing for the coming year.

Lots of kids and families are laughing and soaking wet.

Music is on. Singing is happening.

Great joy is everywhere and we all feel refreshed.

Purple news years decorations bangkok Thailand fitinfun.jpg

I might go get photos of Songkran - and I might not. I've already been squirted on and so I am good for the year. Now I am eating and working.

I’m full as a tick. I’ve been eating for about 12 hours straight and don’t see myself stopping soon. And I’m working until I do drop off into a food coma soon I hope.

I may not be fat anymore, but I am still obese. At least what I’m eating now is healthy if not in too large of portions. This is making up for my liquid diet of the last months. i was getting too thin.

My photo today is from Chinese New Years. I took it from the escalator at Central Plaza Rama 9. Those lanterns are about 20 feet long - each of the three of them and there are many lanterns in many colors. you are seeing only 60% of the length in this photo. The were big as I rode by taking photos :)

We’ve been celebrating since Christmas. Go Thailand. You have my heart.

This post is for #colorchallenge #sundaypurple by @kalemandra.

before and after stomach fitinfun.jpg

Read a bit of my weight loss story and be inspired. Anyone can get healthy if I did.

Sort:  

I like your post @fitinfun

Is it some festival, to make people wet. Same kind of festival happens in India. In place of water we use color water. The festival is called as Holi.

It's interesting to read that so much of Bangkok was deserted, closed, quiet. That's not the way it was here in Chiang Mai.

Before Song Kran started, I was told that a few of the chops would be closed, since the owners / workers would be returning to their hometowns.

In fact, during the past week, only a few shops were closed and quiet. The rest were open ... not to mention busy, active, alive, noisy, and chaotic.

In fact, most shops had large stalls set up in front, selling water pistols and other related paraphernalia. And many of them also had huge barrels of water. Anyone could dip a plastic bucket into the barrel, then turn around and douse an unfortunate pedestrian with a gallon or more of water.

I tried to stay dry. I failed.

Happy THAI New Year!

Apologize for the delay, been managing and speaking about Steem at the Steem Creators Conference in Las Vegas, NV all weekend. Expect to be within the the 24-48 hour upvote window in the next 48 hours.

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95