Little Red Robin - Monday Red Colorchallenge

How is it that such a tiny bird can have such a big, beautiful singing voice? These little passerines can really belt out a tune--sometimes even in the middle of the night! No matter the time of day or night, the song of the robin never fails to uplift.
Robin .jpg
Although they look similar because of the reddish coloration on the breast, the European robin and larger American robin are not closely related with the European robin belonging to the Old World flycatcher family.

The European robin, known simply as the robin or robin redbreast in the British Isles, is a small insectivorous passerine bird. They are quite friendly and cheerful. I've had one pay me a visit in my kitchen when I left the door open. On another occasion, one perched on the arm of a park bench only inches from where I sat, a little feathered companion in contemplation. He stayed for quite some time, even bobbing his head as I spoke to him. I assumed he was agreeing with me---lol!

Robin in Profile in Reeds.jpg

Sort:  

Even birds know when someone has good energy and kindness. That is why it stayed for you to take its picture! I know animals can sense who is comfortable and who is not. That is a nice reflection on you @eyeofthestorm. Your have a gentle soul and caring heart. Thank-you for sharing your beautiful pictures of the robin with us. It is always nice to see them happy in their own natural environment. Please have a great week ahead! :D

Beautiful pictures! You're such a talented photographer!

We see a lot of bluejays and cardinals here in FL. I just think they're so pretty. I've never seen a little red robin or heard one sing.

Thank you livingwaters! I'm pretty much just a 'see and snap' kind of photographer, but I get lucky once in a while. I miss seeing, and hearing, cardinals and bluejays. They don't have those here in England.

Your robin sure is friendly. We have robins here and you can definitely see the difference. Great photos! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56681.24
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28