ColorChallenge SundayPurple - Egyptian broomrape.

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Don't let the sweet and fuzzy look deceive you (and a very, very strange name!).

Egyptian broomrape, Orobanche aegyptiaca macro.JPG
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/4, 1/160, 6mm, ISO100)

I found those plants on one of my photo-walks. Never saw them before and I was very curious what they are. Later a friend of mine told me their name (I dunno how she remembers them all) and it turned out they are very invasive and not welcome among crops.

Egyptian broomrape, Orobanche aegyptiaca 4.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/5, 1/250, 6mm, ISO100)

Egyptian broomrape, Orobanche aegyptiaca 6.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/5.6, 1/200, 6mm, ISO100)

Egyptian Broomrape (Orobanche aegyptiaca) are root holoparasitic plants that require other plants roots to survive. So basically they feed on another plant nutrients and water. This way they can cause quite the damage on crops. They are cheeky enough to stay underground until flowering - so you wont even know you have them among your tomatoes, peppers, peas, eggplants, carrots, spinach, celery, oh boy... lots of them! Even some flowers like chrysanthemum.
They easily spread though seeds and are very invasive.
Basically your garden is screwed :D

Egyptian broomrape, Orobanche aegyptiaca 3.JPG
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/4, 1/250, 6mm, ISO100)

Those little ones from the photos grew in an uncultivated area, so I guess they are safe and free to grow. Now I cannot remember (and didn't pay much attention to) what was goring there that they could feed on... Little plant vampires!

Egyptian broomrape, Orobanche aegyptiaca 2.JPG
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/4, 1/160, 6mm, ISO100)

Pretty right? :D


This vampire plant will be my contribution today to #ColorChallenge by @kalemandra


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

Beautiful happy sunday I stay it to brighten my wall

Thank you! Have a lovely evening too :)

beautiful pictures!

Thank you :)

Cool little parasitic plant Very interesting! The flowers are very similar to those in the Lamiaceae family. (but they are not)

They are... the size is about the same. They grow shorter though.
For a second I thought I found wild orchid :p But naaaa not that lucky ;)

Pretty and innocent-looking! Blood-sucking little vampires... Lol!

Yea!!! That's exactly what they are! :D

Who the hell choose the names of the flowers?

Not me! I swears :D

those pictures are very pretty!!

Thank you :)

Would not suspect that flowers that amazing could be that mean :) Egyptian Broomrape - the name tells it all :)

Very very mean! :D Someone must have been really pissed of while naming them.

Yes, indeed :) Like somebody that has lost all of his crop to their invasion and been raped by the bank because he could not pay back the loan lol

Hahah Exactly!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65