ColorChallenge, Friday Blue: “Good Ol’Blues!”, photography and text by @eric-boucher.

ColorChallenge, Friday Blue:

“Good Ol’Blues!”

Photography and text by @eric-boucher.


Photograpy by @eric-boucher, "Good Ol'Blues", IMG_5269.jpg
(What year do you think this picture was taken!?! You have a few hints here and there in the picture but, unless you knew the location, it would be very hard to find out… The photograph was taken using a Canon PowerShot SX60 HS, ISO 200, 3.8mm, ƒ/4, 1/500.)


After a long trip down in southern British Columbia, my return to the old stumping grounds of Terrace brought me to a visit all the way to the fifth biggest glacier in North America, Salmon Glacier.

On the way, you only come across a few villages. At the beginning of Highway 37A, one finds the village of Kitwanga about an hour east of Terrace. Then, an outpost called Meziadin Junction and, finally, Stewart, BC, about three kilometres away from the Alaskan border and a small village called Hyder. Strangely enough, the cultural differences are palpable as one goes from Stewart to Hyder. Both are notoriously known for their outcast characters and its wild west atmosphere.

Travellers mostly go visit during summer and for good reason: Dwarfed at the feet of humongous mountain ranges following a very narrow pass where avalanches often block their access the snowfalls here are as legendary as monstrous!

Born out of Goldrush mentality, Stewart is settled at the end of Portland Canal and home to Canada’s most northerly ice-free port. Though rustic, it never scared movie makers such as John Carpenter from producing movies here, the great science-fiction classic “The Thing” was filmed near its location. Many go through town to go catch the sight of grizzly bears, which in the summer hang out by Fish Creek along with other animals such as black bears, bald eagles, ravens and a multitude of tourists from all over the world, more often than otherwise, wearing high-tech cameras ready to shoot at a moment’s notice!

The rare few usually only come to stay in these picturesque villages though many attractions are found in these two little out-of-time gems. As I had finally ordered the best pizza of the year in one of the local restaurant, I came outside to bask in the sun before heading up the 26 km drive up to the full-frontal view of Salmon Glacier. Then, I came to realize that two incredible specimen of vehicles had parked themselves across the street. A real blast from the past had rolled in town! I looked for a decent angle to catch both the feeling of the place but, also, to give a perspective of the sizeable glaciers on top of the balding mountains crowning the quaint country setting.

NAMASTE.gif

Sort:  

congratulations eric-boucher you won 1 out of the 5 digital paintings! I decided to count the up votes instead of comments. Since I did not get enough comments to give away the painting. :( Anyway, just give me your email and I'll send you the digital painting. All my best. @zeitlini
city paris.jpg

What a treat and honour to be one of the recipient of this prestigious contest!!! Thank you so very much!

You can reach me through this email: [email protected]

Namaste :)

the place & your photography both are wonderful.

Glad you enjoyed both the location and the photo as well, thanks for letting me know.

Namaste :)

This comment has received a 0.78 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @mahadihasanzim.

Looks British Columbia is awesome ! Beautiful place !! Nice shot my friend !!
Namaste !

Yes, British Columbia and the Albertan border where the mountains are would be a paradise for most people enjoying nature. I sure enjoy greatly myself... ;)

Namaste :)

Yes, mountains makes places places more beautiful !
Namaste !

I LOVE this photo!!!!!!
Before I opened it I thought it was on a Greek island but to my surprise it is not 😀!!!
Amazing!!!!!
Namaste @eric-boucher!

I'm glad this post got you wondering and seeking an answer only to get the answer toward the end. Glad you enjoyed the photo, thanks sharing.

Namaste :)

What an awesome view, Eric! Love the mountains! Thanks for the Friday Blue :) I guess it's around 1960s, am I far? :) Keep up and hope we connect.

I am so glad you attempted to discover the timeline: Maybe the cars are from that era, I wouldn't be one to know that, but the shot was taken 2 summers ago! :) When one finds oneself in these locations, it is a bit surreal as it feels so out of time, maybe a solid 50 years earlier, as you predicted. Great guess really! Glad oyu enjoyed and participated in the guessing game too.

Namaste :)

It seems to me that this photo was taken either in 2012 or in 2015. I could not see the date on the flag. The photo is very beautiful, but the description, as always, is much better. Good luck to you.

Мне кажется, что это фото сделано или в 2012 или в 2015 году. Я не смог рассмотреть дату на флаге. Фото очень красивое, но описание, как всегда, намного лучше. Удачи Вам.

Great guess, bang on! I took this one in the summer of 2016. I am so glad to read that you are enjoying the writing as well, it warms my heart and keeps on encouraging me to write more. I owe you for this one and want to thank you warmly for this gift you share with me every time.

Namaste :)

Nice blue cars, I really like to see classic cars and it's very elegant with its blue color, beautiful atmosphere like in the 60's, nice photos @eric-boucher.

Yes, in deed, it was a treat to see these oldies in a location that seems to be on so many levels from the same era! Thanks for the kind words.

Namaste :)

Very beautiful photography...This pic is really amazing...I love this pic...First blue is my favorite...And all combination are so lovely...car# beautiful house# and mountain in the back is so lovely...Great shot @eric-boucher ...Namaste🙏

This is so awesome to read about your passion for blue and I am glad you have enjoyed the results of this photography as well. Thanks a lot for the kind words, namaste :)

That sky is an incredible blue! B.C. is a very beautiful province. I used to live in Kamloops B.C. and saw many parts of the province. The Rocky mountains in Jasper were incredible.

Sounds like an awesome trip that you had.

Living in British Columbia for over 23 years now has really been an incredible gift in this lifetime. You seemed to have had the great opportunity to travel and be blessed by the province and its natural grandeur!?!
Good for you, good for us all.

Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

Friday;s color is blue....nice photography...
photo editing and color combination are awasome....
i will waiting for your next post....thanks for sharing...

Thanks a lot, I love how you appreciate the depths of this picture. Much gratitude.

Here's the previous post I had on the platform the previous day:
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@eric-boucher/colorchallenge-green-thursday-at-the-source-of-all-greens-photography-and-text-by-eric-boucher

Namaste :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95