Color Challenge: Saturday Indigo - "What’s that – a Columbine?"

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

"What’s that – a Columbine? No, that thankless flower grows not in my garden." George Chapman (1559 -1634)

170530-8055.jpg

Columbines, also known as Granny's Bonnets, have been written about for centuries. Traditionally, the flower is associated with ingratitude and infidelity. A young man would never have presented his love with a columbine flower. Yet, its beauty just can't be denied.

The name columbine comes from the Latin word columba meaning dove. In today's language of flowers, the purple (or indigo) columbine symbolizes a resolve to win.

These columbines were photographed in a Massachusetts garden this past spring.

To find all my photographs on Steemit, please search using dianemacphoto, and to find my designs, please search on dianemacdesigns . Thanks!

Sort:  

Beautiful capture.............I love Columbines 😊💚

Thank you! I appreciate your taking the time to comment. :-)

Beautiful :)

Thanks too for your comment. It means a lot at this early stage in the game. :-)

A pretty bunch! :)

Thank you. It is too hot in Florida for them to grow, or I would plant some in my garden!

Yes, I don't think we can grow them - haven't seen any here, much too hot; they look a little like daffodils too :)

So pretty! Those are a great color.

They are, aren't they? I think they may be the same color as the Colorado state flower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50