ColorChallenge - Thursday Green - Bright Green Sea Glass - Photography

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Just for grins-- and because I do love macro photography and bright colors-- I've decided to do another of @kalemandra's photography #colorchallenge submissions.

I used to be an avid beach comber, and even had a small sideline business selling hand picked sea glass to jewelers and artisans worldwide... I always loved the bright jewel tones of the many distinct colors of glass. So, to follow up on yesterday's entry, here's a macro shot of a handful of bright green sea glass from my local beaches.


Close-up of a pile of bright green beach glass

For reference, most of these pieces of glass are only 1/2" to 3/4" long... but on this macro scale, they look like an entire landscape.

 Camera: Fuji Finepix HS20 EXR, macro setting 120mm equivalent; shot in natural daylight.

How about YOU? Have you ever found beach glass while visiting the sea side?

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit) 

Sort:  

I used to gather beach glass by the handful...

It looks particularly pretty under water.

😄😇😄

@creatr

It's fun stuff! I think a lot of us pick it up as kids (if we have the opportunity) because it feels a bit like finding actual gemstones on the beach.

awesome they look like lollies/sweets

Thanks! I do get that quite a bit... hard to believe these were actually razor sharp shards of glass, at one time.

For the first sight, I thought they were wine gums/gumdrops. :)))
Up and resteemed of course

@colorchallenge, thanks for the support!

Yes, they do look a lot like candy. I have been collecting for years and years and have them in many many colors... setting my own "challenge" here to see if I can do a whole week using only the colored beach glass as the subject matter.

Nice:) I loved collecting these glass "stones" from the sea when I was a child.

Thanks! Where I was in Denmark, I could find a few when I was a child... mostly from old green beer bottles.

Flot

Tak!

Seaglass is one of my fave things to look at! Upvoted!

Thank you-- and it can make some very interesting subject material for macro photography.

Yes, the color, how it plays with light and texture is amazing.

Interesting post and nice photo. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you-- appreciate you taking the time to visit and comment.

They are so cool!

Happy Friday!

Thank you-- and Happy Friday to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39