ColorChallenge - Sunday Purple - Amethyst Colored Beach Glass - Macro Photography

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Today is the 5th day consecutive I'm entering a post in @kalemandra's photography #colorchallenge Once again I'm using one of my favorite subjects for macro photography: Beach glass my wife and I have found while walking around on local beaches.

This is a continuation of my personal challenge to go through an entire 7-day cycle, using only colored sea glass as the subject matter!

I also suggest checking out the supporting @colorchallenge page! There, you will also more explanatory posts about the challenge.

Purple SeaGlass
A piece of extremely rare amethyst colored beach glass

For today's entry, I took a picture of a single piece of amethyst/purple sea glass-- once again, this is quite a rare color in glass-- it is hard to find because this color wasn't much used for commercial purposes. The piece of beach glass you're looking at is slightly less than 1" (25mm) long!

Camera: Fuji Finepix HS20 EXR, macro setting 80mm equivalent; shot in natural daylight.

How about YOU? Are you a beach comber? Have you ever found purple beach glass while visiting the sea side? For that matter, can you remember any purple glass that was used for large scale commercial applications? Leave a comment!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit) 

Sort:  

When I'm out digging around for colors I'm always searching for gold

87702433.jpg

Great pic keep em coming!

Haven't tried looking for gold, but I'm told there are some pretty good creekbeds here in this state (Washington) so one day I might. Thanks for the comment!

Kittitas County is a premier location. Are you close? Those rivers and creeks are loaded with placer gold

Really enjoying the continual beachglass theme. Great idea. Never seen amethyst color that I remember. Used to find some in Florida, but there was not as much glass as sharks teeth. Spent most of the time bent over in the 'sharks tooth' walk. Head down, slowly meandering, seldom looking up or where we were going. Such fun. Mainly looking for fossilized sharks teeth and other bones.

What you find on the beach does seem to vary quite a lot with the location... when I lived in Texas, it was more shark's teeth and Sand Dollars. Up here, it's sea glass, old pottery... and sometimes whale bones.

It is cool you can tell what part of the country you are in by the flotsam and jetsam you find on the sandy beaches. I have a book on that very subject somewhere, very fascinating. Can't remember the author at the moment.

Landlocked here in Colorado so no beach combing for me. Love your posts though. Just about every one. Please keep them coming. You're the best writer on Steemit.

Thank you @rocketbee-- that's very high praise, indeed! I'm just being myself, I guess... like I am talking out to the world through the written word.

Wow that's different! Nice subject @denmarkguy and well done for five straight days!

Thank you... it was just a personal challenge I decided to set for myself, on top of original one.

I'm doing the same, I started yesterday! Just posted my red one :)

you have my upvote beside to my recent pool side catch - it was swimming and asking for help before I catched this

18194183_442809046062987_3133406866940923948_n.jpg

Wow... that must have been quite a surprise!

Actually, this is a better surprise than a snake (I saw few last summer)

Very nice.

Great stuff @denmarkguy ! I also love collecting beach and river glasses! They are priducts of thousand of years of water erosion and im sure contain lot of accumulated energy indide them... Fascinating! Thanks for sharing! :)

Glad you enjoyed-- thanks!

"Have you ever found purple beach glass while visiting the sea side?"
-No. I think that i have never been focused to find it.
I am following you. Nice post :)

Thanks for stopping by and for your comment!

Very useful information. Keep posting the latest information ... I'm very happy if you want to resteem some of my articles ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80