Colorchallenge Photography — Monday Red — Macro Shots of Beach Glass!

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

Back to something I haven't done in a while: Be part of @kalemandra's "Color Challenge."

Yup, it's probably Steemit's oldest and most widespread photo challenge (correct me if I'm wrong!), and I like to "do a little bit extra" for these... 

RedSeaglass
Vibrant red sea glass; these pieces are all quite tiny, maybe 3/8" (10mm) across

So, one of my hobbies/pastimes is beach combing, and we happen to live in an area where there was a public oceanside garbage dump, 50+ years ago.

Among the many things that were discarded over the years, is lots and lots of glass. Most of this was tossed before we used plastics for everything.

RedSeaglass
In the bright sunlight, they look almost orange

Some of you might have picked up beach glass (or sea glass) during seaside visits... and it's mostly old bottle glass that has been broken to small bits, and then tumbled smooth and matte by years and years of being in the sand, surf and pebbles.

Most commonly you find this glass in the colors of most glass containers: Clear, brown, shades of green and pale aqua blue (like Coke bottles). 

Other colors can be quite rare.

RedSeaglass
On this piece, you can still see remnants of the chevron pattern on an old car tail light

RED, for example. It pretty much only came from things like old automobile tail lights and warning lamps at road works, and lenses from ships' lanterns. Not a whole lot of that around.

RedSeaglass
This piece still has a bit of a "lip" on one edge, from the rim that held the lens in place

As it happens, sea glass has become quite collectible, and there's actually an active crafts market for it, as well, with 100's (if not 1000's) of artisans using it for jewelry and decorative items.

I happen to know a bit about it because it has fascinated me since I was about a 7-year old kid.

So, in this post I am basically sharing some super macro photos of red sea glass I have found over the years. Keep in mind that what you're looking at on the screen is pretty much all items less than 3/4" (20mm) across.

RedSeaglass
And a whole bunch of tiny red pieces, looking particularly vibrant against a white background

So, that's my entry for "Monday Red!" Hope you enjoy this rather unusual approach to the challenge!

How about YOU? Have you ever picked up sea glass (even if not red) when visiting the seaside? Did you know it was a popular collectible? If yes, what colors have you found? Have you ever made jewelry or crafts with it? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!


Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180806 20:46 PDT

Sort:  

Pretty amazing that old "trash" that was dumped into the ocean could turn into something so beautiful 50 years later. When I walk the beach in Bellingham, I usually find sea glass that is from broken bottles - but rarely anything that vibrant.

Thanks for sharing!

It's not that hard to just find broken glass from bottles and jars; finding the smoothly polished kind can be pretty tricky though.

I'm told there are a couple of stretches of the beaches off Birch Bay that are pretty good for sea glass, but I haven't been, so don't hold me to that!

Nice to see some more of your sea glass again @denmarkguy.

Do you have it stored in big glass jars in a window? Probably not I'm guessing, since it used to be a business for you. 😁

I used to have it in glass jars until that grew a little out of control... and when it became a business, I had to get better organized. I did continue with the jars, but it was more like neat rows of apothecary jars on a shelf, at that point.

it was more like neat rows of apothecary jars on a shelf

That still sounds lovely @denmarkguy. Are they still in jars or have they since been relegated to boxes?

howdy there sir denmarkguy! wow the colors of that glass is gorgeous, how do you find it if it's in such small sizes, just watch for them as you walk along?
Boy we've come along was from having a garbage dump against the ocean!
very unusual items sir, very cool post!

We have, indeed, come a very long way since then. I think the last year they pushed the garbage over the cliffs for the tides to take away was 1962... when I walk the beach below, I can still find the occasional rusty engine block and large rolls of cable, all rusted together.

You just have to keep your eyes open for a certain type of color contrast against the pebbles. I have been looking for this stuff since I was seven years old, so I have 50+ years experience!

wow denmarkguy! so you did this when you were a kid in the Netherlands?

There are pictures of me at water's edge with my little red bucket, as early as maybe age four... I was picking up "the little blue stones" which were actually cobalt blue sea glass. Denmark doesn't have much sea glass, but there were quite a few of those little deep blue "jewels" and I evidently found it fascinating. Still do!

sir denmarkguy..good morning to you sir! That is so interesting that you were fascinated as a little kid and it never left you, and do you have glass from when you were a kid? Just the colored pieces of glass mixed in a bowl would make a very pleasing artwork it seems.

It took me an embarrassingly long time to realize that those were not Swedish Fish. 😆

Ouch! Yeah, that would be very very unfortunate for your teeth! But I have heard that "it looks like candy" interpretation quite a lot.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-07T03:46:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 123.55/200.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82