Color Challenge: Orange Tuesday - Calendula Bon Bon (Pot Marigold)

A beautiful bright orange, double daisy after the rain.

20170711_105338.jpg

There are about 20 species of these beautiful daisies to brighten up your garden. The name “Calendula” comes from Latin meaning “Little Calendar.” They are used as a herb and also for cosmetic products. It was a very popular plant in ancient Greece as it was used in rituals and ceremonies.

20170715_143340.jpg

This is a beautiful double daisy that comes in different shades of cream orange and yellow. This flower originates from Europe and the Mediterranean regions. They are fast growers, long bloomers and bushy. These flowers are edible and give a nice look and taste in salads. The petals can be used when dried in the place of Saffron, it is a colourant they often use for cheese and butter to give it that rich yellow look.

20170715_143349.jpg

It is always best to germinate the seeds indoors in a warm place of about 21 degrees Celsius with enough sunlight for 2-3 week before planting them out. You can plant these flowers in pots, in herb and veggie gardens or use them to create a beautiful colourful border.

20170715_142943.jpg

They need full to partial sun and moist, well drained, fertilised soil. Grow best in temperatures of 10-15 degrees Celsius, so excellent for the South African winters. You need to feed them often. They reach a height of 25-30cm.

Enjoy planting!!!

Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!

Sort:  

Orange! :)

@crazymumzysa, what a beautiful orange color all of your flowers have. It is so refreshing just looking at them. You always put so much work into your posts. I don't know how you manage to do everything including being a mother, going to school, taking care of the household and posting on Steemit. You are either Wonder Woman or the Flash! I wouldn't even know where to start. I get exhausted writing and creating for one major post that I usually need a week to complete. You seem to do it everyday! Of course you are so much younger with more energy, but still, that is a lot of things to do. I have to give you a lot of credit. Please have a great Wednesday and try to relax a bit. Again, thank-you so much for all the support you have given to me. Thank-you!!!!! :D

My dear friend, it is easier if you write about the things you love. I never thought I would write but here I am and enjoying every moment of it. I try to make time in the early mornings or at night before bed but it is not always possible. Your posts are excellent though and you write with so much ease. Do not be so hard on yourself, take it one small goal at a time. Enjoy a fabulous weekend cabbagepatch.

Nice photo

nicely written and also nice photography.

Just one word for you "You are great"

Thank you ejhaasteem, I think my head has grown a few inches with this compliment of yours.

welcome my friend.... :) As long as your ears do not fly to the sky,,,, LOL :D

Awesome photography with flower.I am voting you.Please check my post.

Pls tell me how to join group i need follower help i already voted u would u like to vote me back ty and follow me :( pls iam really poor

Nice color well pixelated...!!! ❤️

awesome.. thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28