Color Challenge Tuesday: Orange Forest Foraging Finds

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

We've been pretty lucky lately on finding the fruits of nature growing near by. It's amazing what you can find when you take the time to be present and appreciate what earth gives to us.

So today's color is orange and this week on our trip to Florida we have found a couple amazing finds!

IMG_4976.JPG

First one being this Chicken of the woods mushroom. We found it growing in a tree near the beach. The mushroom gets it name from the hearty texture and flavor. When foraging for mushrooms, it's very important that you confirm what you have if you're uncertain. Many localized groups on Facebook are can be very helpful if you are unsure. I always check with our local experts just in case.

Sauté it up with some butter or use it for a nice Marsala. Basically any recipe you would use for cooking chicken. Of you find one be sure to soak your wild chicken of the woods it in a saltwater bath overnight.

IMG_5049.JPG

Today I was lounging in the hot tub at our KOA and I looked up and there was a bunch of ripe pindo palm fruit. I cut my pool time short out of excitement to go forage them. This fruit is very sweet, like a miniature tropical peach. It can be eaten fresh, used to make wine or jelly. I picked a nice bowl full and was sure to leave some for others.

IMG_5050.JPG

Have you found any wild foods? I would love to hear about your foraging adventures.

Thanks for reading & hopefully upvoting!
I look forward to your comments as I really enjoy to reply & like to follow back and share common interests.

Happy steeming steemians.

@brandyb

Sort:  

So cool!, Yeah the chicken of the woods mushrooms are really great, we eat thoes way up here too! I can confirm the soaking in the saltwater, oyster mushrooms are like that too, some bugs like to hide..haha

Thanks for confirming & resteeming!! I'd love to know if you have a favorite way to prepare them.

Here is how ours look up here.

I actually dont eat them myself, I mean I have tried them sauteed sliced thin, seasoned with grey pepper and sea salt, with garlic and onion and chives, shallots and tofu, with a sauce made for that eventually poured over jasmine rice.. But im spoiled up here with other mushrooms I need to get around to trying to eat some of these again for sure! Nice find though indeed.

Whoah those aren't spring chickens lol!!! Those are huge! Thanks for sharing, hope you find one to satisfy the craving!

Thanks so much for resteeming! I look forward to your posts ✌️

I've never been to Florida. But reminds me of California or more so Hawaii. Love the photos. Resteemed. Shared. I am your fan. Good mom tattoo too. Great.

Thank you Joey! I lived in California most of my adult life, that's where I first discovered the palm fruit. It was also quite popular in Cambodia. I super duper appreciate your resteem and I'm so stoked you're enjoying my posts 😁

Wow. Great. I was in Cambodia too. I also like what some call like a Vietnamese apple. Some of the fruit can be very sticky and sweet. Some of it not my cup of tea. I do like tea and coffee. My dad was born in LA. I worked at a Salvation Army, Redwood Glen, in Scotts Valley near San Jose. I visited San Francisco, home of the show Full House. Had a friend, Lincoln Hawk, in Long Beach, CA, and that place had like oil drills or mines I think. Awesome places. Awesome people. People are awesome.

People are awesome! (Well most of them lol, some are sociopathic) San Francisco was my first stop away from home and I stayed for 6 yrs. I learned to skateboard in the pandhandle and that hill where the full house house is... was my first solo. Needless to say I got the wobbles and jumped off, however great memories!

Good post bro.i like your blog.i follow you.please follow me

Thank you, I'm glad you're enjoying my posts! I will look forward to yours as well.

Nice Shoot, orange and green!! followed see you!

Touché 😁

Very beautiful post. I just l o v e the colors! Orange and green is one of my favorite combinations. Nice story too :-)

My minnow voting power is pretty low for the day... I'll be back, when it makes a bigger impact :-)

Good post bro.i like your blog.i follow you.please follow me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.55
ETH 2610.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67