You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Colorchallenge: Wednesday Yellow - Advice From A Caterpillar

Did the caterpillar say something about getting a rash when you touch him? Because that can happen. Those hairs are not there to make him look pretty. :)

Sort:  

No rashes came, but I opted out of touching it myself. I got that primal feeling inside telling me not to touch it. It's pretty because it is so scary looking. I think part of purpose of the hairs is to make them look unappetizing to birds.

Oh, they don't just look unappetizing. The "hairs" are actually tiny needles, that snap off if they penetrate the skin and can cause irritations.
Depending on the species that can get pretty bad, especially if you breathe the stuff in.

Oh wow. I didn't know that. It makes sense though. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60661.72
ETH 2395.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56