You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ColorChallenge Sunday – Purple Corpse Flower

in #colorchallenge5 years ago

You are correct! And thank you for liking my photos. :-)

Corpse flowers are so post have a very strong rotting flesh smell to attract pollinators. The smell wasn't so strong when I was there, could be because it was already starting to close.

It is a very strange plant, hard to wrap my head around how it's 1 giant flower. There is a section underground called a corm that is the main page of the plant.

Here is a graphic I found about its life cycle.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you for this graphic, @apolymath. It is really an interesting flower. I wonder, if they have this plant in the Botanical Garden in Vienna. I'll have a look when I'm there next time :)

Vienna Austria? Beautiful city, visited there for a few days when I was school. Got to wander around the Inner Stadt a bit.

I did a quick search, couldn't find anything in Vienna. But here is a list on wiki of publicized blooms.

[url=https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_publicised_titan_arum_blooms_in_cultivation] https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_publicised_titan_arum_blooms_in_cultivation [/url]

Posted using Partiko Android

I prefer my more landscape like area to the big city ;)
Thank you for the lists. I will keep them in mind. Have a nice day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74