Stickwork :: Creepy Huts in Vail, Co :: Monomad

in #colorado6 years ago (edited)

As is my wont, I plan on milking my vacation to Colorado last week for post fodder. I don't like posting crap, so I will try and be creative and interesting in the use of my memories and photography.

Betty Ford Alpine Gardens


This time, we have a photo from the Betty Ford Alpine Gardens, which is a beautiful botanical garden tucked away high in the mountains of Vail, CO. It's slightly tricky to find, actually, as the garden is located behind a lodge and the only entrance is through a small road between two buildings that is not heavily advertised.

This set of creepy huts is actually stickwork sculptures by the artist Patrick Dougherty. It's cool because I've actually seen his work before at a museum in central Wisconsin, where he sculpted similar shapes on the grounds of the Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum.

I admit I tried to make the photo look extra creepy, but it does a pretty good job of it on its own without my help.


 

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 39.639721 lat -106.369015 long d3scr)


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://negativerealm.com/stickwork-creepy-huts-in-vail-co-monomad/

Sort:  

I think you captured the sculptures perfectly! Very cool find. 🐓🐓

Thanks! They were indeed both creepy and cool.

The pic has the cool old timey look of an 1800s shot. I have to look into the Alpine garden. Never heard of the place before.

The garden was an unexpected find for us as well. I do like exploring gardens. So many fun and weird plants and flowers I've never seen before.

Can you go inside the sculptures @negativer? I love stuff like that.

I've seen similar things where the sticks started to leaf. That was pretty cool. I wonder if that will happen with these too. 😊

You can indeed! The doorways are taller than human height. Not a lot of room for entertaining on the inside, but it has a good view and the rent is cheap :)

What's the view of then @negativer? Does it have a mountain view?

Aye. A pretty good mountain view, but there are lot of trees in the way in most directions. Still, the whole area is pretty mountainous, so it's hard to avoid having at least SOME kind of a nice view in any direction.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=negativer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=stickworkcreepyhutsinvailcomonomad-uguycby0o0


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93