COLORCHALLENGE FRIDAY BLUE

in #collorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Good day fellow Steemians!

For this color challenge friday, there is no blue more beautiful then a November sky.
athabasca falls3.jpg

November bliss was taken at Athabasca falls,Ab

Athabasca falls is not the biggest falls in the Canadian Rockies but most definitely the most powerful of them all. When the picture was taken river was not at full force due to glaciers cooling down and freezing up for winter. It gets much of it's flow from nearby melting glaciers still maintaining violent flow even in the winter. In the summer The power of the waterfall is both intimidating and enchanting.
athabasca falls10.jpg
This is just part of the water fall. There is a specific reason why I took that picture rather than the whole thing. This picture represents one of my what was I thinking moments. Stay with me while I go on a bit of a ramble to explain.

My job is a safety sensitive job and I encounter many dangerous situation,deadly gases, working at elevations ,explosive atmosphere, the hazard list goes on. With that being said, I may be slightly desensitized as to what is considered dangerous by the average person. Too add to it I also suffer from severe food allergies that is in most foods sold at the supermarket, in other words taking a bite of the wrong cookie could kill me. So now that you understand vaguely my line of thinking here is the questionable moment and why I took the picture above.
athabasca falls5.jpg
Where you see the rocks shaped like steps where the water is flowing, in the winter the flow of the river significantly reduces and I didn't know until I went back in the summer. The flow on the "step rocks" dries up and exposes a natural stairway all the way down into the waterfall. @Silvergingerman and I proceed our way down because that's way cool to be able to go down into the waterfall. Elderly couple above looking at us and pointing like we lost all our marbles, other visitors looking with envy.athabasca falls.jpg
Recognize the log from picture #2 that is laying horizontally? That is not all the way, I went further down.

Yep the second picture represents the moment I realized what I did a few years before and here I was laughing like an idiot by myself . If i had the chance to do it again, as stupid as it is I would do it again without blinking. At the end of the day, death by a waterfall sounds more glorious than death by a cookie or slice of bread.

This place is very special to me for many reasons . Not only is it one of the most precious place in the world as far as landscape, it is also where @silvergingerman proposed.

All right that is it for tonight. Thank you for stopping by and your support. If you like my pictures upvote, resteem, follow. Checkout my other pictures.
Please don't be shy feel free to comment, I would love to read your " what was I thinking moment".

Be safe !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47