You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grades Pay

in #college7 years ago

As far as in-state tuition goes. The division of financial aid often meets your expected family contribution. There are financial need-based scholarship based out of need for students who have lower income households. Having good grades and merit only increases likelihood of getting specific need based scholarship and others. All the public universities I applied to found scholarships that met my family's expected contribution. Meaning that if FAFSA states that the expected contribution is $4000 and your tuition and housing is $20,000, often schools will find scholarships to meet that. I have received zero scholarships that were completely merit based. Many were financial need based or a combination of both financial need and merit. I have to maintain a certain GPA to keep my financial aid, as well as being in attendance to all my classes the first 4 weeks of school. Many of my friends believe they cannot afford to attend college, but never apply or wait to find out what financial aid will offer them.

Sort:  

Thanks for the information. Knowledge they say is power. You obviously did your home work. I can tell your education is important to you and you are determined to get and put in the work. I admire you. Lots of people work on rumours not facts. I like it that you have taken time to find the facts as it applied to you. Keep it up. I wish you all the best in your studies and I shall be rooting for you. I shall be looking forward to reading about you graduating again in flying colours as you have what it takes. Keep it up. Well done

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70