Sororities

in #college3 years ago

If you asked me a year ago my thoughts on sororities, I would of laughed and rolled my eyes in a purposeful manner. My vague conceptions concerning Greek organizations, were that they were simply shallow and for people with weak minds; unable to form valid decisions on their own, thus depending on a cult like leadership to steer them in the right direction. Last year, my roommate talked me into going through the rushing process, and after weeks of her insistent begging, I agreed; mostly to scoff at the whole institution. The first few houses I visited were exactly what I expected. The majority of the girls fit my expectations. They asked me about partying and boys; our conversations not requiring more than a few brain cells. By the third sorority house, I was already completely tired and bored of the whole process; set on the idea that Greek life wasn’t for me. I definitely wasn’t expecting the experience I got at Delta Gamma. When I first walked into the house I was greeted by down to earth girls. They didn’t mention parties and boys never seem to be the top of their priorities. They discussed culture and travel. They shared insite about school and classes. They offered advice about making friends. By the time our alloted time at the DG house ended, I was completely hypnotised by the enormous impact the girls in the house had already made on me. Three days later I pledged myself to the organization. I remember thinking I was completely crazy for wanting to actually join a sorority, but by actually talking to the girls, they changed my mind and my heart. My major is all about experiencing new cultures and keeping an open mind when it comes to new things, you previously would of looked down on. Greek culture is diverse. Some things are very stereotypical, and other aspects are completely amazing and even beyond my grasp of what I thought was possible. Being apart of a sorority, has expanded my view of life as I once knew it, and it has been great practice for my future in keeping an open mind when it comes to different cultures. I appreciate being so openly accepted by a bunch of girls, who I hope will be in my life for years to home. Even though we are diverse in many ways, we fit perfectly together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44