You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I regret going to college. And you should run screaming from the quad.

in #college7 years ago

At my university, there is very much a strain of SJW shit floating about. Apparently there is a female only safe space somewhere, considering my luscious long hair I was tempted to visit it and if they got suspicious I would have just said I was trans but I was too lazy to do that.

However I never felt like there was this massive left-wing bias during anything I did there that was mandatory. Maybe it was the fact that I am doing a Bachelors in Business Informatics and not an art / social studies degree and decided not to touch politics with a 10-foot pole there because I know how sensitive of an issue it is to some people.

In some of the textbooks there were points about gender disparity but they more or less just pointed out that fact and did not suggest hiring based on superficial factors (I think one of them discouraged it).

I can't exactly remember what it is for, maybe it was a communication unit, but it was kinda sexist against women talking about how they are more emotional than men or something like that. Really took me by surprise.

The fact you had to suffer through that bullshit really sucks though, university isn't the place to force political beliefs on people especially if it's mostly irrelevant to the topic. People can do whatever the fuck they want for extra-curricular for all I care, run your drum circles to discuss how the latest Buzzfeed article was problematic, but the education aspect should remain politically neutral because every time politics are brought up it fucking derails the entire class.

With that said though, I feel as if some people bring this upon themselves. As much as it may interest people, it's such a better idea to not discuss controversial topics unless it's absolutely necessary. Any lecturer worth their salt doesn't want to know your ideology, they want to know how well you understand the content. I saw a guy touch on an anti-feminist point during a speech that was going to be peer-reviewed by someone in the class who was pretty about their social justice leanings. He later complained about that. Why the fuck did you even bring this up we were talking about the different styles of management.

Maybe my university is a rare case, but it was fine imo.

Sort:  

The English department at my school was highly politicized, and this honestly started with the professors. They tended to bring up controversial topics and encouraged students to take on their viewpoints as their own. I think I just got stuck in a shit department. Classes I took from profs in other departments tended to way less political and more about the actual subject at hand. From what I've heard, any kind of Humanities field is pretty much a lost cause at this point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61