The Headlights of a New Life (College)

in #college8 years ago


Isn't it crazy how fast life can pass you by?

I feel like we are lone travelers trying (unsuccessfully) to flag down vehicles... those vehicles being life moments. They come and fly by in a brief flash. As they drive off, you get a distant memory of what they looked like, and before you know it, another set of headlights are sending your shadow into the trees ahead.

Many of those cars that pass us in life leave permanent memories. Distinguished moments full of excitement and joy... Dreadful moments full of sorrow and a deep pain within our souls... These moments are highlighted in the taillights. Some of these, I'm sure, will be memories of my college life. In 3 years (or 4 if I take it slow), I will have something to reflect upon, and from my first impressions of Liberty University, it will include many wonderful moments.

As I grow comfortable towards my next phase of life, I almost immediately reflect on my past, some of which, I would hate to leave behind. Friendships that were once close now seem far away. Is it just the fact that we traveled so fart apart? Literally finding what seems like the best option, but in opposite directions.

I could continue asking questions, but that would be too much of a halt. Like freezing time just to stare at a couple of dimly lit tail lights. Instead, I'll embrace this new life. These cars will keep passing... teaching, testing, and transforming me into who I will become. Maybe someone will hop out and join me alongside this long one way road. Maybe this glimpse of a car will bring the feeling of freedom I so deeply desire.

Whatever my future holds, I'll seek it with a trust in my faith, and a lively spirit. Of all the things I know, the most joyous way to live life is to appreciate what is left behind, feel what is current, and imagine what could be.

Sort:  

I feel like life goes by to fast :(. I can't believe everyday that it has already been 17 years since I was 10 years old or that it has been 15 years since 9/11 happened.

Indeed. The second I walked out of the portable where I made my Senior Project Internship presentation, the last high school work I would ever do, I felt a swelling a joy and a wonder towards how school went by so fast.

Yesterday feels like everyday I can remember. I ought to write a poem about that... Unless I already did... I don't know.

Ironically... I can't remember like it was yesterday sometimes.

(Oh, and somehow I do not remember much about 9/11. It happened 2 days before I turned 4, so ya know. My earliest memory is watching tv about the event a year or two later. I've watched the programs every year since.

I enjoy the stories of heroe's and understand the pain behind the events. My family is from NJ so there are some ties to NYC.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35