My Belt Buckle Collection -steemCreated with Sketch.

in #collection7 years ago (edited)

I began collecting belt buckles in late 2015. (Don't judge me! What do you collect?)

So... here's why: I was looking for that statement piece. Some guys have a cool sock collection. Others have cool shoe laces. Others can afford really nice suits. Well, for me, it was belt buckles because, as a child of the 70's I grew up around everyone wearing them. I even had my fair share. My father purchased a custom leather belt strap with "big rigs" embossed all around and got a Big Rig belt buckle to match. There was even a place to engrave my CB handle. We never did any engraving. I sure would love to find that belt/buckle combo, but I think it made it's way into the Garage Sale pile.

So, today, I have around 30-40 buckles. In my next post, I'll explain my logic to the selection process and post another of my favorites.

1982WorldsFair-RED-front.JPG

I was able to attend the 1982 World's Fair in Knoxville, TN. The SUNSPHERE is still there, it's that big gold ball in the skyline just south of Interstate 40 as you go past downtown K-town. Not only was this one of the first buckles I came across in my search, but my father had actually received an identical one as a gift (I found out about a year later) tucked away in his closet.

If you have a collection you're proud of, share this post and add a link to your collection here. I have many more to share with you all!

Happy collecting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70