Mr. Octopus Goes to the Theatre ~ Collaboration w/ @Everlove's "Expansion"

Mr. Octopus Goes to the Theatre



This is my collaboration with @Everlove's photo "Expansion"

Here is the original photo:

To me, I saw two spotlights crossing each other, like they often do onstage at the theatre.  I used to work in theatre, as a scenic artist.  But, way back in college in the early 90's, when I attended Santa Barbara City College and studied technical theatre, I worked backstage on many shows.  And, for some of the shows I operated one of the spotlights (follow spots).  

I also noticed in the photo - what sort of looked like octopus tentacles reaching towards the stage (at the bottom).

I created a watercolor painting depicting this scene...

But who should be onstage?

I decided to put this little ballerina that was part of the logo for my first small business I tried to start in the late 90's (that business never really got started, unfortunately).

I drew the ballerina, and my mom put the logo together for me (she was a graphic artist).  "Munchkin Theatres" was a business I was trying to start with my ex-husband.  I had designed a mini, portable theatre - for children to pretend/play-act.  I was hoping to build several and sell them, or rent them for parties.  But, unfortunately the prototype that was built had a major design flaw.  The way I had designed the different scenery backdrop panels to slide into the structure - could've pinched kid's fingers, or their parent's.  I never quite got around to re-designing it.  I still have my little miniature model of it that I built, though.  But, the prototype is no longer in existence.

Anyway, I figured the little ballerina was perfect here!  I had to fix it up a little - I only had an old copy of the image.

I put it all together, recolored things a bit, and here you go!

At first I imagined the octopus was somewhat ominous, and was about to snatch the ballerina off the stage. But, as I painted him, he let me know that he was a friendly octopus, and was just there to see the show.  (phew!)

Sort:  

OMG Followed beautiful work <3 <3

Hahahaha---awesome! You have quite the imagination dear friend. I love that you told us how this came about and a bit of background about yourself. What a sweet creation on many levels. The octopus looks very excited to me, like he is dancing or cheering. A very fun use of my image! Great job @pyrowngs!

Yeah - this was fun to put together!

I can tell!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32