"La Vie en Rose" Painting - Available for Collaborations

in #collaboration7 years ago

"La Vie in Rose" Painting ~ Available for Collaborations


I've been working on several collaborations lately, including collaborations with two of @Alexandravart's paintings. She has indicated that she would like to collaborate (play with) some of my art.  So, I am putting this painting up for her & other Steemians to collaborate with, or alter. 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.  Artwork by @Pyrowngs.


Here's the story behind this painting:

For 3 years in a row, I entered artwork into the Wine Bottle Label Art Contest at Belle Fiore Winery (located in Southern Oregon).  I didn't enter this past year.  Each year that I entered, I was a finalist, but I never won.  I always either got 2nd or 3rd place - never 1st place.  This painting was entered into the contest during the fall of 2015 (2 years ago).  This painting is called "La Vie en Rose," named after the song of the same name.  Perhaps you know it - it's a famous French song.  There is also an English version of it.  But, the lyrics are slightly different, with different meanings.  

My husband and I went wine tasting at the winery prior to me working on my entry for the contest.  We went there so I could get some inspiration for the painting, since I wasn't sure what I wanted to paint yet.  I let the wine pourer know we were there for me to get inspiration for my painting - for the contest.  He remembered me from the contest the previous year.  He told me he wanted to sing me a song to help inspire me, which he does quite frequently for guests at the tasting room.  He's a great singer, with a lovely voice!  He sang "La Vie en Rose" - all in French.  He speaks French since he had lived there for a while years ago.  After he finished singing the song, I asked if he would tell me what all the lyrics meant.  So, he re-sang each line and translated it into English for me. It was totally amazing & very inspiring! 

So - I painted about that song.  It's a painting about being in love and seeing the world through rose-colored glasses.

I finished the painting on Halloween (2015).  My husband took this photo of me dressed up with "Day of the Dead" face paint on, as I was putting the last finishing touches on it.

I sell this image on greeting cards, but it doesn't sell all that often.  I'm not sure people understand what it is a painting of.  I'd love to see this painting get out there a little more.  I feel like it has a great message and feeling to it, but perhaps it's just personal to me.  Hope this painting inspires some of you.  

If you end up playing around with it and doing a collaboration with it, please put a link to it in the comments here so I can find it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45