You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pneumonia Weather?

in #colds6 years ago (edited)

I'm a bit tired of hearing the cold does not cause the cold truism. Sure, common cold is caused by a virus. But the stress, as you write, say, of exposure to cold can weaken one's immune system and make one more susceptible to infectious diseases. I remember spending a few minutes at -20 C just because I was too lazy put on a jacket one Christmas and succumbing to a bad case of cold. I think it's likely that the stress of shivering in the frigid outdoors for a few minutes was enough to tip the balance in favor of the virus that time. I must have been infected already but my body might have been able to fight it off and prevent any symptoms without that stupid trip to the storage outside without getting properly dressed.

Sort:  

I was talking about a warm winter. Do you think one has to be dresssed warm on a hot day during the winter?

I thought you were talking about changing weather. Sorry, if I made a mistake.

Specifically warm weather because I stepped out in warm weather yesterday without a jacket and someone said I could get pneumonia. Supposedly warm days in winter causes people to catch pneumonia.

Well, that was certainly a strange thing of that someone to say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66