Something beautiful from this brutal weather at the start of a new year.

in #cold6 years ago

The ice on the inside of the back door window was not unexpected. How beautiful it is was. It is a result of my trying to keep my house warmer by letting a pan of water simmer on the stove. I had made a pot of vegetable beef soup earlier and it helped a bit but was not enough humidity to fight against the cold. It has been the coldest New Years in 140 plus years in Omaha Ne. At 2:50 am it is -13 ouside with the expected low reaching -20 by 8am.
I am wearing a sweatshirt over my tshirt to keep from shivering. It has been this cold or colder in the 45 years I have lived in this house. It just hasn't been this cold in several years. I will survive. I put out extra seed bread scraps and ear corn for the animals that live in my little yard. It isn't much but it might help.

When I go to bed after this posting I will curl up in bed under extra covers and snuggle with the cats. I will wake up later in the morning and face tomorrow and the New Year with hope and determination. I wish all my friends and family a safe and better year. And you who are reading this are included in that wish too.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

Winter has arrived.jpg

Sort:  

You're cold and we're hot...Expecting 42 degrees (celcius) here on the weekend. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60