Coinstarter a scam?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #coinstart7 years ago

Been seeing a lot of people making posts advertising Coinstarter.

coinstarter_ico.png

Supposedly it's supposed to be the "Kickstarter.com" of cryptocurrency. They are promising free tokens for people who sign up. If you refer people you get even more tokens. It's a great strategy to get people talking about it but makes it feel a bit scammy.

I signed up as it only requires an email address (I used a throwaway). The website was slow and a bit amateurish but I did receive my tokens. They are saying that 800 tokens are "worth" 1 BTC so 50 free tokens is pretty good.

They aren't letting anyone withdraw tokens until later.. I think the price of the tokens are going to drop SIGNIFICANTLY as soon as they can be withdrawn - everyone that got free tokens will be dumping.

In anycase, if you want you can signup still for 50 free tokens. Only takes a few minutes and it might get you a couple of bucks at the end of the day. I wouldn't drop any money into this though. You can sign up and use my referral code here.

Make sure to use a throwaway email/password in case the site turns out to be a phishing site.

You can read more discussion on the bitcoin talk forms: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2046931.0

Sort:  

I have no idea whether or not it's a scam. But I had signed up, it costs me nothing so I cannot loose anything there.

And if they're phishing I'll create an email rule to counteract that, no biggy

Also I'll hang on to the coins, let's see what happens.

yup pretty much doing everythign the same as you

same here, let´s wait & see..
as of now they dropped the token giveaway to 2 tokens when you sign up, what got me thinking is that the clock kept resetting every 24 hours.. They update the site info regularly, first they took out the USD conversion, so now there´s nothing referring how much the tokens may be worth in USD they even took away the 800 tokens=1 BTC banner, the token reward for referrals has drastically dropped to 0,5 tokens from 25 tokens 2 days ago.

Whats everyone's thoughts on this one? Scam? Just good marketing?

Did you sign up? Will you be dumping?

Congratulations @cryptoindex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25