Coin of the Day 8-27-18steemCreated with Sketch.

in #coins6 years ago

I'm starting a new series that is mainly going to be coins and tokens that are new to me. A friend was cleaning up their collection, and as they mainly collect US coins, they decided to give me some of the foreign coins they had lying around. Most of them are either common, or even state that they have "no cash value" but maybe over time that has changed. If you see one that I post that's got some rarity to it, I'd love to know.

image.png

The first coin is a 5 Centesimi piece from Italy. Although I immediately thought it might be gold (because it's gold colored), it's actually Bronzital. The coin was produced during a time when it was likely just copper and aluminum.

From Wikipedia (using Google Translate)

The bronzital is a particular bronze alloy composed of copper and aluminum initially used for the production of coins from the mint of Rome.
image.png
source



Here's a picture of the reverse.
image.png

It has been demonetized, but according to Numista it could be worth up to $1.00 USD.

image.png

Here's a closeup of the reverse.
image.png

Forgive me in advance if I say this many time, but "I'd love to know what this coin has seen." It has been around for 76 years, and was minted in Italy during the time period of World War 2, so it would be interesting to know how it came to be in the United States and the journey it took on the way.

Regardless, it's a new coin to me, and I like history and unique designs on coins. Look for more coins like this in the days to come.



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

I love numismatics, so I am eager to see your new series, mainly because you will show me coins that I have never seen or accounted for. Thank you.

I'm glad you're liking the new stuff so far. Most of them are not going to be made of precious metals, but they should be older and non-US coins. I'm looking forward to learning a bit more about them as I go through them.

That 76-year old coin, for sure, has seen many, many things... like the aftermath of World War II and Italy's Economic Miracle..... I wonder if that coin was ever in the pocket of Alcide De Gasperi.

I don't know what it has seen, but it would be fun to hear the stories. Maybe if I threaten to melt it down it will spill the details. I doubt it though. I'll just let it be and admire it when I get the chance.

It is indeed a good collectible item @themanwithnoname and it will be an antique after 24 years.

Yes, it's already got a good start on the 100 years. Maybe it will continue to increase in value over the years and I can sell it for a bigger profit. Or maybe I'll keep it since it looks nice.

Thanks for stopping by!

you have coins from all the countries I imagine, even from venezuela you will have or are you missing those?

What's up, buddy? I was just thinking about you and wondering how you were doing.

I don't know that I have any from Venezuela yet. I'd love to get some silver coins from each country around the world. If I can't get silver, regular coins would be cool too, but it's expensive to get them shipped. One day I'll get some... or I'll look through my collection and realize they were buried.

Hey man how you doing
these weeks has happened to me of everything, I got marriedl, and also I have had a pain in the arm and elbow the doctor sent me rest and stay away from computers so that's what I've done

WHAT?! I didn't even know you were engaged. Congratulations on getting married!

I'm sorry to hear that your arm and elbow have been hurting. Hopefully they get better soon.

Enjoy marriage!

thank you for your words my buddy, and I saw that you send me a gift I am very grateful for that, my arm is improving, I hope today or tomorrow to make a post with some photos of the marriage

You're welcome! I know that many people who have just gotten married don't have a ton of money, so hopefully this helps, even if it's just a little. I saw your article. Thanks for sharing the pictures. :)

it's amazing to receive help gestures from people I've known for a short time and I already consider them friends, however small it may seem, just the fact that you took the trouble to send a gift is admirable

Glad to help out. And I know it can go a lot further there than it can where I live. Hopefully you're able to cash it out and spend it for stuff you need, or you're welcome to power it up. Whatever you want to do, just enjoy and have fun!

Let's learn more about coins!

That's the plan. I like to gain new information when I can and I figure this is a good opportunity.

It seems you know @ronaldoavelino? How do you know him?

howdy sir Blondie! minted right in the middle of WWII, yes sir, the stories that coin could tell!

Maybe I could get the stories out of the coin and then write a book on them. Or maybe I'll just let it rest and admire it from time to time.

hahaha yes sir well one thing's for sure, it has a very good home now!

you're the best Blondie!

Wow! Красиво!!!

Thank you! I appreciate you stopping by.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49