Why Cryptocurrency Is Important To Me


Image Source

Introduction

Hello @coingecko / Coingecko, before i post about CoinGecko Writing Contest, let me introduce my self first.

I am @calprut, you can call me "calpy". I am from Indonesia, East Java. 27 years old with two cute babies.

I am an influencer on steemhunt platform, and active there for 3 months already. We are welcoming @coingecko too to join this awesome steem blockchain.

Why Cryptocurrency Is Important For Me?

I have a pretty long story actually. But I will tell you quite briefly.

Around 2010, I have at least 5 BTC results from withdrawing forex trading. Then I deliberately kept it for investment. However, the disaster came when in 2012. My beloved father had a motorcycle accident, and his legs needed surgery. At that time, the operating costs were around Rp. 11,000,000 (around $ 1,000), not including room, medicine, etc., and even need antibiotics at a price of Rp. 450,000 x 2 bottles per day for 5 days.

Of course, without thinking again, I have to sell everything I have, including my laptop and BTC (I still don't have a permanent job at the time). At that time, I sold my 5 BTC to local Indonesians worth Rp. 7,500,000 (maybe around $ 550 at the time). And guess what, five years later, my 5 BTC is almost 1 billion rupiah. In my heart, I really regret having sold it first, and nothing left. But because it's my responsibility to care for my beloved father, I will sacrifice anything for him.

After everything I sold, in a few years I had a lot of debt. Just 3 months ago, I knew Steemit, "STEEM", and @steemhunt and I participated in this platform. Unexpectedly, focusing on just one DApps platform, I can gradually produce STEEM to pay off my debt. I am very grateful that I will be able to pay the maximum debt in December.

Then, Why is Cryptocurrency Is Important For Me?


My Favorite Cryptocurrency

There are several reasons I have why cryptocurrency is very important for my new world, and I will discuss about the experience in Steemit.

Make Money From Hobbies

My main job is "Freelance Writer" in Indonesian. So, my hobby is writing. By joining Steemit, I can channel my hobbies, and at the same time I can make extra money, and this does not take a long time.

To be honest, everyone must aim to get "profits" or "extra money" by trading, investing, or participating in DApps.

Cryptocurrency is "unlimited"

No doubt, Cryptocurrency offers a variety of advantages. As far as I know from the currencies that I use most often, namely STEEm and Litecoin, there are several advantages it has.

  • Decentralized. Transparency guarantee is obtained.
  • Fast, cheap, easy. In just a few seconds, the transaction can be processed, even without knowing geographical boundaries.
  • The best investment means.
  • Unlimited possibilities from the blockchain network.

For the last point, I have a little story that my country (Indonesia) wants to implement blockchain technology into a government system that is honestly very corrupt. However, before that happens, people who have the idea are "jailed".

For me personally, I like the second point because I can use it for everyday transactions, even I can buy various products from overseas sites easily, safely and quickly.

STEEM is very important for me NOW!

I was surprised by my own income on the STEEM network that was bigger than my main job. So, this is truly a blessing from God because I joined the STEEM network.

In addition, I can meet people who are very good from outside my country, especially those on the Steemhunt platform. I can learn a lot from them, about how to interact, discipline, and so on.

In my opinion, STEEM's network brings revolution, while bringing sustainable "very great" ECONOMY.

Note: I apologize if my English is quite messy and difficult to understand

This post is a submission to CoinGecko's ”Why Cryptocurrency Is Important To Me” Writing Contest

Sort:  

don't worry about the btc billion. You are already a billionaire. your father is a lucky man to have son like you dude. I was thinking this crypto as fun and not serious. Now It changed, calpy you are awesome son. may God bless you.

imagine @sabari18, if i sold it in December 2017 :(
haha,, thanks dude, but after i have daugher and son, i think nothing important again except my small family :)
thanks for your nice comment. and sorry to tell anything about that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80