How I experienced the CoinDash hack

in #coindash7 years ago (edited)

coindashioHacked.png

Oh well sigh... Maybe its better to learn the hard way (talking about myself, not CoinDash) :)

Here is what happened:

Around 14:30 (GMT+2): Getting the Ether ready, preparing the wallet. FOMO = everything is set, all I have to do is entering the right contract address (lol).

Slack server # Announcements Channel:

CoindashReminderoneOclock.png


CoindashSlackbeforeHack.png

Middle finger index low



CoindashReminder2.png

"Yea man, I know!"



It's 15:00 (GMT+2), sale is supposed to start. I refresh CoinDash.io like a maniac. FOMO rules everything around me.

After about two to three minutes (not sure exactly) I start to wonder what's going on, "why is there no contract address yet?"

Then WOOPS THERE IT IS!

coindashiotransactionNumber2.png

"That looks a little crappy. But yea ... whatever"


Around 15:05 (GMT+2): I enter the address, the transaction goes through. Great. I took the address from the page. Everything's cool. Now let's add the token to the wallet:

NotAValidToken.png

"OK, now that is strange! Whatever. I took the address from the website. Must be them. I don't have a clue about all that technical stuff anyway. Did my part. Everything is fine."



Having another look at the Slack:
CoindashSlackAfterHack1.png
"Wow, the middlefinger index spells trouble!"



I am now between a hard "LOL" and a big "FK ME!!!". After the dust in my brain settled, I was trying to figure out what hit me. I already practiced getting in the right mindset to deal with my loss. In the meanwhile things kind of escalated:

CoindashSlackAfterHack3.png

The middle finger index reached an all time high! People, this is serious!


Thirty-seven minutes later, people (including me) begin to see a light at the end of the tunnel:

MiddlefingerIndexgoingdown.png

Look! The index is bouncing back to normal! Same volatility as the tokens being sold... And yet not even on an exchange! Now thats immersion. Awesome!



"Well, whatever. I cant change sh__ and I gotta go do something else now anyway."




In the meantime on CoinDash.io:
coindashHackMessage.png

And then on Slack:

middlefingerIndexZero.png

I am pessimistic. But you betcha I will fill out this form! :D


First conclusions:

  • Don't ever FOMO
  • It might be worth it checking if the address provides ERC20 tokens via MyEtherWallet before transferring (just an idea)
  • DON'T PUT ANYTHING ON RISK YOU CAN'T COMFORTABLY LOSE. IT'S WILD WILD WEST OUT THERE!
  • Dont ever think you have an idea of anything, or even any control. This is

    Jurassic Park!


  • In the hopes of educating a little and reminding of the risks,

    to all those out there excited about the amazing opportunities this technology is offering us,

    peace!

    @hawtoken

    P.S.: I will keep you people informed on how this evolved as soon as all the fuss is over. I am really curious how CoinDash will handle this situation. Scam theories are spreading all over the net, suspecting CoinDash being behind all of this. Greatest thing ever would be if they posted a statement or something in the comments. It's still allowed to dream, right?

    P.P.S.: Please excuse the bad formatting. This blog entry took me quite some time to try to deliver a little quality. I am still in the making :) Also just realized that the images should have been bigger. It's hard to see the middle finger indices, hope no eyes being harmed. When theres a next time, I will do better. Oh, and ANY criticism is welcome! I only ask you to stay factual/objective and polite!

    If you should see any wrong statements/facts, please leave a comment so I can rectify them.


    Some shirts I wanted to share. These are referral links and I would make a small royalty if any of these should sell.


    end here
    End here.
    Why the heck is here so much white space?!



















    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.20
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.028
    BTC 64097.37
    ETH 3476.43
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.53