Coinbase to PayPal Transactions are Broken, No Fix in Sight

in #coinbase7 years ago

I use Coinbase —> PayPal as my main way of converting cryptocurrency to USD… But the last few days, it’s been broken.

What’s the Deal?

There has not been much transparency on the issue… the only confirmation I have about the outage is a small spot on the Coinbase Status page.

Annoying! If you rely on the instant Coinbase -> PayPal transfer for any essentials in life (food, etc), this can really fuck you up.

Of course, it’s also a lesson in self-reliance. Withdrawing funds last-minute for groceries is a huge single point of failure in my financial system… in fact, it’s horrendous. It is completely beyond my control, for one thing - relying on two private companies to let me use my cash is a terrible idea.


Me when I can’t access my steem to buy groceries… lol // source: pixabay.com

Beyond that, there should be at least a $100 buffer in any bank account - and another $100 as a cash buffer somewhere in my bedroom - to account for these emergencies.

I don’t have that right now mostly because I’m poor as fuck after spending all my savings to move to Raleigh. This is an excellent reminder as to why it’s so important, and has lit a fire under my ass to get that buffer re-established before the end of the month.

Tough Times w/ Finance

My finances have been… difficult lately. I’m on the edge. Surviving, but not easy. There’s always that idea to get an extra part time job and reduce the stress, but in all honesty I feel like if I can just hang in there for another few months, it’s going to be way better.

If I’m able to dedicate all of my time to steemit, self-education via books, and practicing my main vocation of music, I know it will work out. I have no doubts. It’s just about that short term survival in the meanwhile.

How are you holding up right now?

We all know it's a bloodbath in the altcoin market this week. Tough to see steem go from $1.50 after the SMT announcement, right back to $1 today... let me know how you're feeling. Group therapy in the comments today, lol.

Sort:  

I would gladly buy your crypto, Btc or Steem but I’m In the UK so prob not the best idea. If you want to explore this, let me know but I fear international bank fees will kill the idea!

cool, I will keep you in mind over the next few days - thanks!

No worries. Thinking about it, I could send you cash via paypal, which may work. It will involve trust on both sides (which is an anathema to crypto) but we could start with small amounts we are both happy with! Let me know.

Yea I'd actually be down to do something like that in a day or two - we could do a steemit "contract" which helps with the trust issue, or something along those lines - is there a good way for me to contact you privately to discuss?

I’m not too sure. I am reluctant to post personal details on here and there is no PM facility. Any ideas?

It's ok - They finally fixed the PayPal transaction so I was able to withdraw some immediate funds. In the future, Discord is usually a good way to communicate privately, or Busy.org which has PMs built in.

I'll hit you up if a good private trade opportunity arises. Cheers dude!

Please do mate. I’m looking to accumulate more crypto and it should be better for us both as we will hopefully avoid trading fees!!

You need to use better ways to convert your money. Use a web wallet that you hold your own private keys like blockchain.info and use localbitcoins.com to cash out your bitcoins as fast as possible.

You are right. Thank you for those resources - going to look at them right now. I've been thinking about finding a better alternative to the Coinbase -> PayPal chain, mostly due to fees, and this is perhaps the last straw.

Don't use coinbase. When you get this settled find other alternatives. Hope it works out soon.

Why are you anti-coinbase?

Because they have the worst customer service on the planet. They seem to be all for profits and collecting sensitive information. Getting past all that they have the worst verification system thst barely works. And if customer service ever does respond, there nasty disrespectful people. This happened in all my experiences. There's other alternatives the don't collect any or as much of your personal information. Good luck.

Thanks From @aponvhuiya
im waiting for your upvote
so

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72