ERC20 Token stuck in Coinbase wallet

in #coinbase7 years ago (edited)

I need some help from the community.

I participated in an airdrop of ebtc with a Coinbase ethereum address. The airdrop worked, because I can see the balance in Etherscan, but I can’t access the token, let alone sending it somewhere.

Obviously, I wasn’t supposed to use a coinbase account for the airdrop and can't access my private keys as I'm used to, as I found in the below 2 articles.

https://support.coinbase.com/customer/en/portal/articles/2829461-altcoins-and-icos?b_id=13521

https://support.coinbase.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1526452-where-can-i-find-the-private-keys-for-my-wallet-?b_id=13521).

So I understand using a coinbase address was not the smartest of things, but I’m fascinated by the problem.

As far as I understand, the tokens are locked by a private key. If I’m able to import the private key in another erc20 compatible wallet, I would be able to access the tokens.

But how to access coinbase ethereum private key? It looks like coinbase doesn’t give access to private keys.

Alternatively, in MEW there is an option to “empty wallet”. This transfers the whole Ethereum balance including tokens to an address of choice. This would resolve the problem as well.

Does someone know if the “usemax” option in Coinbase is similar to the “empty wallet” feature?

Does someone have other suggestions?

Sort:  

COINBASE HIT WITH SECOND CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR VIOLATING ‘UNCLAIMED PROPERTY’ LAWS
Accordingly, this class action seeks to recover these unclaimed Cryptocurrencies and deliver them to the intended recipients, as well as all “forks” thereof (e.g. Bitcoin Cash fork of Bitcoin), and “airdrops” related thereto (e.g., ERC20 […] airdrops of Ethereum related tokens).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62