Shift card shutting down in April 😖😭

in #coinbase6 years ago

If you are like me and use your Bitcoin for saving and spending, then you too were just dealt a crushing blow.

Since 2015 I have been a happy user of Coinbase' shift card debit card. The card was probably the best out there in regards to fees and connection to your wallet. I purchased my card for $10, and it came with 0 transaction fees at POS and only a $2.50 to withdraw cash at an ATM. Meanwhile most other cards charge a monthly or yearly fee. Also with most cards you have to cash out your Bitcoin to fiat for it to be spendable in stores, so you can't take advantage of rising prices. With shift it makes the exchange at the POS so you never have to load it and you can still take advantage of price fluctuations. Super easy and convenient way to spend anywhere. This card was a daily driver for me for a while. When I received the email about shift shutting down I was devastated. I could use bitpay again but in the past I stopped due to their app being inefficient and there high fees. Seems like I'll be doing more HODLing than ever now.

Anyone else experiencing the same level of sadness as me?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 10.35% upvote from us for your 1125 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66