I share my experience of Verge(XVG)-Lyra2Rev2 mining on Suprnova Pool!

in #coin7 years ago (edited)

Since I'd made an order of Infinite X, I thought about what to mine. It looked great to try Multi-Algorithm Mining, however my husband told me a variety of forums say it is good for neither of profit nor computer. I decided to mine just one kind of coin, and I searched for what to mine with 1080TI in http://whattomine.com.

Zclassic and Verge caught my attention because they appeared on top of the list repeatedly.

I found Verge started to attract some attention in Korean forums before Infinite X arrived. It had aroused suspicion of scam and it has a black paper instead of white paper. If I just planned to trade in it, I would not choose it because I am as careful and cautious as Meerkat. It is, however, just mining! I decided to give a shot.

I chose XVG beyond Zclassic because..


I could get more coins. I focused on the number of coin more than the current dollar-value. It would be smart move only if I see the future of Verge bright. I've just started the adventure of mining, so whatever I do and whatever happens, I will learn from it so it is alright.


I checked Zclassic and Verge in Coingecko and Developer Score of Verge was not bad.

However, I could not find how to mine Verge! What pool should I choose? What is profit of it? But there has been few review.

In Verge Official Site you can check the mining pools.

It is the multi-algorithmic cryptocurrency, so you can mine on Scrypt, Myr-Groestl, Lyra2Rev2, Blake2s or x17 algorithm. I found Verge on Lyra2Rev2 has been on the top in whattomine.com

There are the following three pools which support Lyra2Rev2 mining.

I clicked IDcray and Chinese language appeared that I cannot understand(soon I found it happens only in the middle of loading process). So I switched to Zpool, however, it gives you not the coin that you mine, but the equivalent of Bitcoin.

I chekcked the list of Verge Mining Pools again and I found Mining Pool Hub with Scrypt Algorithm.

I had mined Zcash on Mining Pool Hub with my Laptop GTX 785m before, so I wanted to try on this pool again. They supported only Scrypt mining, not Lyra2Rev2. In the end, I had to mine with Scrypt mining on Mining Pool Hub.

[Mining Pool Hub/Scrypt : Mining Time 3:30 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.]

I could see I mined this much for almost 9 hours.

What? I mined only 0.06 XVG for 9 hours???

I thought it is the problem of the chosen algorithm. I returned to IDcray.

Before mining XVG, you have to..

  • download cciminer
  • download Nvidia CUDA Toolkit 9.1 which is neccessary for ccminer
    (If you activate ccminer without it, ccminer gets closed with the message that your system doesn't support CUDA 9.0)
  • download Microsoft Visual Studio
    (When you install CUDA Toolkit without it, CUDA Toolkit warns you installation can be incomplete.)
  • register yourself on IDcray and add an worker

You should make an BAT file written as follows in ccminer folder:

setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
ccminer-x64 -a Lyra2rev2 -o stratum+tcp://xvg-mine.idcray.com:10011 -u idcrayusername.workername -p workerpassword(if you don't have it, write 'x' down.
pause

Activate the BAT file!

)

It started! You can see something is clearly different from the Scrypt mining! A lot of beautifully green "Yes!"! You also can see them with Scrypt mining, but just rarely. I never knew that I could see "Yes!" that often.

Algorithm is important. Check it out on whattomine.com.


You can check your info on IDcray Dashboard.

However I found something is still wrong. whattomine.com says I can get avg. 0.45 coins for one hour, and although I considered the number can be different I got still less.

[IDcray/Lyra2Rev2 : Mining Time 3:00 P.M. - 7:50 P.M.]


Just 1.42 XVG for almost 5 hours.

I thought it is the problem of the mining pool so I searched for another. The only left one was suprnova. I found it is a large pool. In suprnova, there are much more Pool Hashrate on Myriad-Groestl algorithm mining.

But I am a stubborn woman. I pushed on Lyra2rev2.

You need to do the same thing again.

ccminer-x64 -a Lyra2rev2 -o stratum+tcp://xvg-lyra.suprnova.cc:2595 -u suprnovausername.workername -p workerpassword(if you don't have it, write 'x' down.)
pause

[Suprnova/Lyra2Rev2 : Mining Time 7:00 P.M. - 8:30 P.M.]

As I expected, for one and half hour I could get as much as I had gotten in IDcray for 5 hours. I guess IDcray Pool Hashrate was 30GH/s but Suprnova 5586.41MH/s so I could get more reward. I should study more about it.


Especially for the first one hour I was mining in both of IDcray pool and Suprnova so my hashrate was 30MH/s, but now it became 60MH/s since I stopped mining in IDcray. I can expect the better result.

Summary: Mine Verge with Lyra2Rev2 algorithm, in Suprnova pool!

Sort:  

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67