You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Automation bias - Cognitive Biases (Pt.6)

Great post as always:)

I think some of the earliest forms of this were seen in airline disasters where the pilots became so reliant on using their automated systems that they favoured them over their own judgment.

The GPS example is interesting. I used to be really good at navigation and reading maps. Since GPS has come along I have become noticeably worse if I don't have GPS to rely on. You could say that the automation bias has lead to a loss of and atrophy of skills that I previously had.

With mobile devices doing more and more, along with things like augmented reality I think this will likely become worse.

Sort:  

Great post @krnel and thoughtful reply@thecryptofiend.

I used to know every phone number I needed, I had them all in my head. Now? It took years to remember my own mobile phone (cell) number!

Thanks for the feedback. Great additional examples. I agree, the advent of "augmented" reality is going to be something else..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45