Uses for Coffee Grounds

in #coffee6 years ago

I grew up on a farm and for many years my Grandpa had mounds of coffee grounds piled everywhere. I always wondered why. I knew they held heat for one cause during cold winter months you could see steam rolling out of the grounds.
Grandpa used to mix coffee grounds with the dirt in the fields as a fertilizer to grow healthy plants. And I also learned the coffee grounds keep away animals like rabbits, deer and goats from eating the plants cause the scent of grounds. After scent fades away the animals would come back. And its a great insect repellent.
I love coffee and drink it everyday, even more if its cold outside.
His savings of coffee grounds has got me saving all my grounds for various reasons. One reason is cause our yard has lots of trees and the ground around holds lots of moisture. Cause trees block the sun from ever getting to dry out. Which means lots of mosquitos. I sprinkle grounds around in the grass and now the skeeter's are gone.

One day I was just sitting around bored and I went to look up why grounds stay warm. But other uses of grounds distracted me to looking into more uses.
I read that it can fix scratches in funiture, Unclogg a drain in you bathtub or sink, Clean tile floors, Makes your hair shiney. and many other things it can be used for.
https://www.thisoldhouse.com/ideas/10-uses-coffee-grounds
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/food/article-3043176/The-20-surprising-uses-coffee-grounds.html
I seen it can get rid of hard to remove odors. Like where people urine on back of shed. And no smell left behind.
https://www.quora.com/Do-coffee-grounds-remove-odors
I seen this story on how a town in London is going to use coffee grounds to heat 15,000 homes this winter,
https://www.standard.co.uk/news/london/coffee-grounds-from-london-cafes-set-to-heat-15000-homes-as-bio-bean-launches-daily-collection-round-a2946876.html
So now you know something new. Coffee Grounds have so many uses before and after used.

Sort:  

GREAT POST!! IT REMINDS ME OF MY LATE GRANDPA WHO WAS THE BEST COFFEE SELLER KNOWN IN MY HOME TOWN! THANK YOU!!

Glad I could bring back memories.

That's kind of you ! I will be following your posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01