mocha madness

in #coffee7 years ago (edited)

Good Morning All!

I was so excited to check back in this morning. Thank you to all who clicked, followed, etc.

My first order of business this morning was of course, COFFEE! Both to drink and also cutting this beautiful Mocoa Maddness Soap I made last night. And yes friends and neighbors, I said soap. This is one of my favorites and one of my best sellers at craft shows. I can't believe how much I enjoy making soap and how much happiness it brings me. This new obsession came at a very sad time in my life. I had always had it in the back of my mind that I wanted to give it a try, but it wasn't until after my Father passed away last year that I found myself so desperately sad...all the time, inconsolable, sad. After realizing that I was tettering on a very dangerous slide into a depression so very deep I might not make it back, I looked for an escape. I was never very smart in school, so the math and science involved in Soap making keeps me focused and out of my own head. So although I still miss my Daddy, at times overwhelmingly, I guess this is my new "happy place".

Don't get me wrong, my family have been wonderfully supportive during this dark time, but I think I just needed something I could do by myself, without distractions. And I'm getting pretty darn good! Lol, at least in my opinion.

But back to this mornings coffee! I like it strong, and sweet and creamy and with a nice hit of cocoa. That's how I like it in my cup and in this soap. My lye solution was mixed with strong coffee and heavy cream then combined with some skin loving oils. I then divided it into 3 containers, cocoa powered added to the first for that dark brown color, kanolin Clay and white mica added to another for the creamy portion, and the third with no added color to retain that coffee with creamer look. Coffee grounds for exfoliating added to the tan and brown and the whole shebang scented with vanilla bean and coffee scented fragrence oils. And it is glorious! Let me know what you think? image.jpgimage.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03